Thread: [SOLVED] How to compile MythBuntu to fix bug?

Beans

Question [SOLVED] How to compile MythBuntu to fix bug?

Quote Originally Posted by superm1 View Post
    If you are trying to change the behavior of an action you will have to recompile the code.

Follow these basic steps:

1) apt-get source mythtv
    2) sudo apt-get build-dep mythtv
    3) sudo apt-get install devscripts
    4) dch -i
    Put what you are changing in the changelog.
    5) Make changes
    6) debuild
    7) Profit!
    Hi, found the previous information elsewhere in this forum and hate to ask questions in others their posts:

I'm fairly new to linux and programming on MythBuntu (have an background as a java, C#, C++ and assembly programmer, but that was some time ago ). At the moment I'm reading in on linux, C++ and QT4 especiall), this to contribute to MythBuntu and MythTV. Because i'm not there yet, i have the following questions.

At this moment I want to step over from analogue to DVB-C tunercards. Because my cable provider does not follow the dvb standards for providing channel information I need to recompile MythTV with the fix for Myth 0.22 discussed in ticket 3640(http://svn.mythtv.org/trac/ticket/3640)

I have the following questions about following the above steps from superm1

1) Do I need to reconfigure my mythtv settings after rebuilding?

2) do I loose any of the MythBuntu specifics? if so, what do I need to do else?

3) Where does apt-get (steps 2+3) places the code en scripts?

4) how to proceed with step 6: rebuilding mythTV

5) Do I just restart my system after this to use the rebuilded mythTV version? Or are there other actions nessecary?

Any help would be great.

(I'm also interested in guides about starting developing on MythBuntu and/or MythTV).

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Re: How to compile MythBuntu to fix bug?