Thread: Intel HDA audio pain

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Question Intel HDA audio pain

Hi,

I have a Dell Precision M6300 laptop (my choice was forced because I am an Avid video editing engineer and this is one of the only 2 approved laptops. The other was too expensive.) It's a great machine in all but I'm having problems with the audio in Kubuntu Hardy. The audio chip is a SigmaTel STAC9205 (HDA Intel.)

I've read so many HOW-TOs and guides and tried so much stuff that I'm not quite sure what state the sound system is in any more. My goal is to be able to play audio on my Logitech USB headset (my main listening device) and the internal speakers, to have the sound mix if more than one program tries to make a sound at once, to be able to play MP3s on my headset, to be able to get decent audio on Second Life, to get Second Life voice chat to work and to be able to Icecast/Shoutcast a live radio show using Internet DJ Console (IDJC) or similar.

The problems I currently have are:
    • Programs block the sound devices so only one can use each one at once.
    • When I run Second Life or some other (mainly JACK-aware programs) I get a continuous soft ticking sound from the speakers and the audio is slightly "broken" like something's having trouble keeping a buffer filled.
    • Second Life voice can't find any other users (This is a documented behaviour when it has a problem with the ALSA configuration)
    • IDJC makes the soft clicking sound above but the audio is very broken and is audibly wowing.

The machine has a 2.4GHz core duo, 800MHz FSB, 4GB RAM, Intel PM/GM965 82801H (ICH8 ) chipset and nVidia Quadro FX 1600m[256MB] video so it really shouldn't be sweating like this.

I tried putting in the options for a Dell Precision in whichever file was referenced in one of the HOWTOs (damn I'm starting to lose it.) but that made no difference.