Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Before I nstall Ubuntu 32bit 64bit Much Diffference

Beans

Before I nstall Ubuntu 32bit 64bit Much Diffference

Because Im new to this I just want to clarify a couple of questions

Ive been running Ubuntu 8.04 LTS 32 bit from the CD and I want to install it so I can run either Windows or Ubuntu. When Im on the main screen in Ubuntu and you have the icon to click on to install Ubuntu this will install it so you can choose to boot into Windows or Ubuntu Is that Right ?

Second

Im currently running the 32 bit version but going buy my comuter details below:

Windows XP Professional
    intel(R) Core (TM)2 CPU
    6400 @ 2.13Ghz
    2.14 GHZ, 3.62 GB of Ram

Processors
    2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400@2.13GHZ

I can run the 64 bit version, I havent done this becuase I have read mixed reports and been told unless you have at least 4GB of Ram 64 bit is not much different.

Is there any real difference between 32 bit and 64 bit verson in Ubuntu ? Is one faster ?

Thanks for any help

Beans

Before I install 32bit or 64 Bit Question

Ive been running Ubuntu 8.04 LTS 32 bit from the CD and I want to install it so I can run either Windows or Ubuntu. When Im on the main screen in Ubuntu and you have the icon to click on to install Ubuntu this will install it so you can choose to boot into Windows or Ubuntu Is that Right ?

Second

Im currently running the 32 bit version but going buy my computer details below:

Windows XP Professional
    intel(R) Core (TM)2 CPU
    6400 @ 2.13Ghz
    2.14 GHZ, 3.62 GB of Ram

Processors

I can run the 64 bit version, I havent done this becuase I have read mixed reports and been told unless you have at least 4GB of Ram 64 bit is not much different.

Is there any real difference between 32 bit and 64 bit verson in Ubuntu ? Is one faster ?

Thanks for any help

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Before I install 32bit or 64 Bit Question