Thread: [SOLVED] Complex Network Setup - Help Needed

Beans

[SOLVED] Complex Network Setup - Help Needed

This might not be an Ubuntu question, but here goes. I'm currently trying to implement the following network setup:

As I only have experience with simple router-to-clients networks, I need some information to get started on this.

1) Is bridging required in this case?

2) Can network A and network B have different local subnets (like 200.180.1.x for A, 202.191.1.x for B), and at the same time workstations from both networks can access C?

3) I've done a little experiment by connecting C to both router A and B at the same time. However, C defaulted to using B's Internet access. How to I force C to use A's Internet access instead?

I'm not very good with my words, so my questions might sound a little illogical or vague. I will provide more information as needed.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Complex Network Setup - Help Needed

this setup is neither complicated nor hard to do (at least for me) - what you have are two subnets - the one connected to A and the one connected to B. If C is a network or a lonley computer/server being connected to both networks i don't know. But here is what i (think) you need to do in other to get full connectivity (i will see C as a fill network now, NOT as a single host. This will result in slightly more rules, but nothing really to worry about).

But before i start - there are some basic things i need to know from you.
    1.) what is the address pool of the networks ? 192.168.0.0/24 ? 10.0.0.0/16 ? This is not really neccessary to know, but it helps me generate the right commands for you
    2.) please clarify the setup of C.
    3.) how much do you know about routes ?
    4.) do you know what a default gateway is ?
    5.) how much do you know about port forwarding ?