Thread: [SOLVED] Can't get wireless working on my HP laptop...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

[SOLVED] Can't get wireless working on my HP laptop...

Hello
    I just upgraded from Ubuntu version 7.10 to 8.04 on my laptop and now I can't get my wireless card to connect or even turn on for that matter. It worked fine before so I'm not sure what's up. I figured that something funky must have happened during the upgrade so I tried doing a fresh install. No dice. The indicator light still doesn't even turn on. I see that there are a lot of threads that deal with this same type of problem but I'm really kinda new at this so I have quite a bit of trouble sorting through it all and finding what I need. I have tried a few different things but, like I say, it's hard to tell what I need to do. I have an HP dv5020us laptop. It's set up to dual boot windows xp pro and Ubuntu. My wireless network doesn't have any WEP encryption or anything like that; all I use is MAC filtering. I can't even see my network or any others around me using the wireless utility in Ubuntu. I'll be happy to post the output of any commands I need to to help diagnose the problem. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much in advance for your help.
    Registered Linux User # 451883 - Registered Ubuntu User # 16711

Beans

Re: Can't get wireless working on my HP laptop...

On my laptop I have to activate the wireless adapter in the BIOS. That done, it works well and the network manager allow connections to wirelesss networks very easily.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Quote Originally Posted by jeremy1138 View Post
    Hello