Thread: [SOLVED] Gutsy + Atheros AR5212

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

Angry [SOLVED] Gutsy + Atheros AR5212

I upgraded from Feisty to Gutsy a few months ago and it broke my wireless ethernet. I pounded my head against it for a while and then gave up. I've been using Vista now for several months and want to get back to Ubuntu. I backed everything up to external HDD and have re-installed Gutsy from scratch (actually twice or three times now). I've gotten through issues with my T60's ATI X1400 graphics card, but the wireless card is still not working. I've found various howto threads/pages, but none of them seems to be applicable to my situation (AR5007, Hardy, Gutsy 64bit, etc.). I'm really going crazy trying to get this to work. Any help or just a referral to a HOWTO would be immensely appreciated.

Last edited by groundskeeper; June 14th, 2008 at 11:53 PM. Reason: re-installed Gutsy, not Feisty.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

Re: Gutsy + Atheros AR5212

Wired network works fine. Roaming mode allows me to select my network (or my neighbors', but I don't know their network keys). I get an IP address in the correct range. Any attempt to access, for instance, google, without the wired network plugged in eventually times out with what appears to be a DNS error. I used to have trouble under Feisty with my router's internal DNS server and I'd have to remove the local addresses from the DNS server list before things would work, but that's not helping.

Please help.

Beans

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=512828

worked for me but whenever I shut down I have to unclick on some things in "hardware manager" and then boot up twice to get it to work. good luck! (basically it amounts to using ndiswrapper)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy