Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Xampp requires a network connection?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    530

    Xampp requires a network connection?

    hi
    I have xampp installed but for some reason it will not run unless there is a network connection. What I mean is, when I start Xampp up, it doesn't give me an error or anything but when I go to localhost it blanks out. After I plug a network connection in, it works perfectly. It doesn't have to be connected to the interent, just connected to a network.

    Has anyone experienced this problem? Does anyone know how to fix this? It seems that it checks to see if there is a network and doesn't patch to the xampp server unless it sees one there.

    Anway, any help is welcome. Thanks

    The Net Duck
    My personal website is www.thenetduck.com
    A great new design community is: www.FreakinAmazing.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Cowtown
    Beans
    573
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Xampp requires a network connection?

    I think if you explicitly tell apache to bind to the lo adapter's address, 127.0.0.1, it should start right up. eg. in the httpd.conf file look for Listen 80 and change it to Listen 127.0.0.1:80

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    237

    Re: Xampp requires a network connection?

    I've noticed this with the default ubuntu LAMP configuration. It does not have to even be a real network. I once plugged my laptop into a hub(or router not sure which one it was an old one I had laying around) and nothing else was plugged into it but kubuntu grabbed an ip and it worked.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    530

    Re: Xampp requires a network connection?

    Quote Originally Posted by quelx View Post
    I think if you explicitly tell apache to bind to the lo adapter's address, 127.0.0.1, it should start right up. eg. in the httpd.conf file look for Listen 80 and change it to Listen 127.0.0.1:80
    Tested this out and it didn't seem to work. Still not start until connected to some how to a network. I tried different variations of localhost 127.0.0.1 etc...


    I wish I could pin point the cause.

    Thanks
    The Net Duck
    My personal website is www.thenetduck.com
    A great new design community is: www.FreakinAmazing.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    40.31996,-80.607213
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Xampp requires a network connection?

    Perhaps your host file is messed up. Look for an entry like:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1    localhost
    Also, try '127.0.0.1' in your browser.
    "Security lies within the user of who runs the system. Think smart, live safe." - Dr Small
    Linux User #441960 | Wiki: DrSmall

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    237

    Re: Xampp requires a network connection?

    Ya that works fine but only if the computer is on a network.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    40.31996,-80.607213
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Xampp requires a network connection?

    That doesn't make sense, as lo is it's own loopback device. That should be working.

    What does 'ifconfig -a' produce?
    "Security lies within the user of who runs the system. Think smart, live safe." - Dr Small
    Linux User #441960 | Wiki: DrSmall

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    237

    Re: Xampp requires a network connection?

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:09:c5:48:84
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:21

    eth0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:09:c5:48:84
    inet addr:169.254.6.51 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    Interrupt:21

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:27404 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:27404 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:49521073 (47.2 MB) TX bytes:49521073 (47.2 MB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:3a:4d:50:32
    inet addr:192.168.0.83 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::21f:3aff:fe4d:5032/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:64476 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:46826 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:69412485 (66.1 MB) TX bytes:6829104 (6.5 MB)
    Interrupt:20 Memory:c0200000-c0204000
    hope that helps. BTW I'm using Kubuntu but that shoulden't matter. I am not using Xampp but installed ubuntu LAMP with tasksel

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    530

    Re: Xampp requires a network connection?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Small View Post
    That doesn't make sense, as lo is it's own loopback device. That should be working.

    What does 'ifconfig -a' produce?
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:37:cb:48:05
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Base address:0x1800 Memory:fe200000-fe220000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2966 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2966 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:242212 (236.5 KB) TX bytes:242212 (236.5 KB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:3b:51:12:79
    inet addr:192.168.0.3 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::21f:3bff:fe51:1279/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
    RX packets:2141117 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2113555 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1325261249 (1.2 GB) TX bytes:420453598 (400.9 MB)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1F-3B-51-12-79-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    This is what I got for my machine... running a ThinkPad R Series with wireless ABGN

    The Net Duck
    My personal website is www.thenetduck.com
    A great new design community is: www.FreakinAmazing.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    530

    Re: Xampp requires a network connection?

    I think it has something to do with

    /etc/network/interfaces

    Because ... these two posts...

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ubu...ond-lampp.html
    http://www.certforums.co.uk/forums/thread21800.html

    I don't know what to modify though....

    The Net Duck
    My personal website is www.thenetduck.com
    A great new design community is: www.FreakinAmazing.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •