Thread: USB Headphones

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Lightbulb USB Headphones

Hi There! I am a bit new to Linux, so please be patient and bear with me. I have a set of eDemensional USB headphones and was curious if it's possible to use them in ubuntu. Thanks for the help!

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: USB Headphones

Quote Originally Posted by bkwraith View Post
    Hi There! I am a bit new to Linux, so please be patient and bear with me. I have a set of eDemensional USB headphones and was curious if it's possible to use them in ubuntu. Thanks for the help!

I take it when you plug them in, they dont work?

When they are plugged in, can you please post the output of
    Code:
    sudo lsusb
    AJ
    Want to find out more about your ubuntu system? see HowTO Ubuntu System
    Want to know a little more about networking? see HOWTO Ubuntu Networking
    Looking for help with something on your ubuntu? see the tutorial of the week sticky

Beans

Heh, USB headphones can be a bit of work sometimes, but rest assured, they will mostly likely work.

I had to compile my sound drivers (I always have to do that, actually) with support for both my audio card and the headphones. The ./configure line looked like this:
    Code:
    ./configure --with-sequencer=yes --with-cards=usb-audio,ca0106 --with-oss=yes
    and then set the headphones to be default with
    Code:
    asoundconf
    Now then, I'm sure that this is all gibberish to you. I'm more posting it incase you need it later on (or someone else searching does).
    Last edited by Xiong Chiamiov; June 14th, 2008 at 05:33 PM. Reason: naughty naughty typo
    I do not use Ubuntu any more, nor have I ever used Gnome. Therefore, I tend to give advice that is distro- and DE-agnostic, which, while perhaps not the easiest way, will allow you to move freely between machines.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Quote Originally Posted by ajmorris View Post
    I take it when you plug them in, they dont work?