Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: Software installation problems

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Beans
    1,541
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Software installation problems

    Mastrius, I think this is because your hosts file is missing.

    Do this in a terminal:

    Create the hosts file:

    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/hosts
    In the hosts file, type these entries:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.1.1 whatever-your-computers-name-is
    Press control+x to exit nano, and then hit y to save the file.


    The Administrative Application just means that it's an app that needs you to type in your password to run.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Beans
    799
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Software installation problems

    Enter this:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    Tell us what the output is. Does it upgrade your software, or does it complain?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    15

    Re: Software installation problems

    I tried to make the hosts file, but it says it can't write it.

    Second I already used the 'sudo apt-get upgrade' command that worked already.

    BTW what is the Administrative Application and why does it vanish?

    The Synaptics Package Manager doesn't run either. the 'Starting Administrative Application' bar shows for a few seconds, goes away, and the package manager doesn't run.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Beans
    799
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Software installation problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Mastrius0713 View Post
    I tried to make the hosts file, but it says it can't write it.

    Second I already used the 'sudo apt-get upgrade' command that worked already.
    Are you 100% sure that you have tried "sudo apt-get upgrade" and not just "sudo apt-get update"?

    What happens when you type "sudo synaptic" into the terminal?

    If you need to completely reinstall Synaptic, you can do it like this:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge synaptic
    sudo apt-get install synaptic

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    15

    Re: Software installation problems

    Okay the Synaptic Manager is running now. I ran it from the terminal. I also tested it on one of the other ubuntu machines, the 'Administration Application' is the applet that asks for the password. But why isin't it running like it should? I believe thats what is causing the problem, because it always quit before asking me for a password and the apps waiting for me to confirm my password end up sitting around and waiting, and cannot be closed except by a shutdown. So, what do I do about the 'administration app'?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    15

    Re: Software installation problems

    Guess I'll have to reinstall the OS.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Beans
    799
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Software installation problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Mastrius0713 View Post
    Guess I'll have to reinstall the OS.
    There is absolutely no need to do that.

    You can start any application with admin privileges just by putting "sudo" before the name of the command.

    I'm sure that with a tiny bit of patience, your problem can be fixed.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    15

    Re: Software installation problems

    Maybe. But not all programs are like that. The 'add/Remove programs' window doesn't require a password untill you have finished selecting the programs you want to use. but thats where the problem comes in. If you can't type in your pass to allow the files to install let alone allow the app to continue with normal functions what good is it?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Beans
    799
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Software installation problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Mastrius0713 View Post
    Maybe. But not all programs are like that. The 'add/Remove programs' window doesn't require a password untill you have finished selecting the programs you want to use. but thats where the problem comes in. If you can't type in your pass to allow the files to install let alone allow the app to continue with normal functions what good is it?
    To run that program, type this:

    Code:
    sudo adept_installer

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    15

    Re: Software installation problems

    Okay. I tried the command sudo adept_installer and it says command not found.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •