Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I reset the root password

Beans

I reset the root password

Im a little concerned but please keep in mind i'm new to ubuntu.

I forgot my root/admin password. I found help on resetting it here, in an archive in ubuntu forums.

The post was:

sudo passwd root

then I entered the new pass twice and it worked.

What has me concerned is that I was logged on in an ordinary account.

Am I wrong.. is this not possible?

tia

Beans

Re: I reset the root password

I understand that usually there is no root password set with Ubuntu. THis is different to many other Linux distributions where root is an important part of the system. Ubuntu does have root, but uses 'sudo' more. So the root password is your password, in a way. If you change the root password with 'sudo passwd root' it does, sudo=superuser do (root) change password, 'root' which is like changing to root, then changing its password.... if that makes sense. SO if you didn't have sudo privelages, you couldn't change root password, so no there is no problem with you doing this!

I just checked and if you type passwd root, you are not allowed to change the password, as you haven't changed users to root!
    Last edited by chronographer; June 4th, 2008 at 04:56 AM. Reason: update

Beans

in a way having sudo as opposed to su is more secure.
    For one root access can be compromised much faster and it makes the user unable to mess around with root and mess up with the system.
    HOME BUILT SYSTEM! http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/22804/ Please vote up!
    remember kiddies: sudo rm -rf= BAD!, if someone tells you to do this, please ignore them unless YOU WANT YOUR SYSTEM WIPED

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR