Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: memtest86+

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    322

    memtest86+

    I was having software issues, so someone suggested i do a memtest, so i did the ubuntu memtest thats on grub


    so far it has found well over four million errors, and it is at 39%.



    it is currently doing a "random number sequence"


    it started at (this is under the failing address header)

    Failing Address
    -------------------

    0000a5aa[some more numbers] 176.6MB


    and ever since it has been returning error after error.

    I do not know how to fix this at all.
    any help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    1,386
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: memtest86+

    The obvious answer is to buy new memory to replace the faulty module.

    How many modules do you have? If you have more than one you could remove the one causing the problems. Also it would be worth removing and replacing the modules - re-seating them might possibly cure a fault.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    322

    Re: memtest86+

    i reseated them, they passed the memtest the first 2 times, but when it rolled over a third time it got the errors again...



    so how do i find the type of ram i have to buy?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    321
    Distro
    Xubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: memtest86+

    Does you computer have a good airflow? Memory needs to be cooled too, else it can produce errors. I can change my fan speeds and I had two modules that could show their temperature. When I ran Memtest, the first pass was ok, the second too but later it gave errors. I checked the temperature and it was above 55 C. When I turned up the fans (front intake and rear exhaust), Memtest ran for over 10 hours without any error. First thing to do is check your airflow. If you don't have a see-through panel to read the thermometer, you might want to open your case when you get errors and read it then. Of course, don't use any metal on the memory, as it might short.
    With a see-through side panel, you can close your case and position the thermometer so you can read the temperature. There are different kinds of thermometers, so check the one that fits best. A laser readout is the safest, but can also be the most expensive.
    Throw Apples out the Windows, but make sure not to hit the Penguin.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    322

    Re: memtest86+

    checked and rechecked, even put a big box fan, but still crashes.


    what is a command so i know what type of ram to replace it with?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    322

    Re: memtest86+

    bump..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    33

    Re: memtest86+

    Do you know what motherboard your system uses? OR If your system is OEM built (HP, Alienware, whatever...) can you list the model and number?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    322

    Re: memtest86+

    it says hp pavilion 700 on the label by the SN

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    33

    Re: memtest86+

    The HP Pavilion 700 is listed as using PC133 SDRAM, and as supporting up to (2) 256MB DIMMs. HP's bios setup will also list what is installed. I would double check in bios as later 7xx series used DDR.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    322

    Re: memtest86+

    ok, the bios says (512mb DDR)

    so i will look for that i guess, hopefully for less than $50

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •