Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: lo network device does not start up automatically

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    lo network device does not start up automatically

    I noticed that my lo network device does not start up when I restart any more. This is my /etc/network file:

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    
    iface eth0 inet static
    	address 192.168.1.4
    	netmask 255.255.255.0
    	gateway 192.168.1.1
    
    auto eth0
    
    #Wireless
    noauto ath0
    allow-hotplug ath0
    
    iface ath0 inet manual
    wpa-driver madwifi
    wpa-roam /etc/network/wpa_supplicant.conf
    
    iface default inet dhcp
    when i try to restart my interfaces with
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    i get this error:

    Code:
     * Reconfiguring network interfaces...
    /etc/network/interfaces:13: misplaced option
    ifdown: couldn't read interfaces file "/etc/network/interfaces"
    /etc/network/interfaces:13: misplaced option
    ifup: couldn't read interfaces file "/etc/network/interfaces"
    PLEASE HELP ME!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    22,278
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: lo network device does not start up automatically

    Wow! That's a hairy interfaces! Let's try this:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    
    iface eth0 inet static
    	address 192.168.1.4
    	netmask 255.255.255.0
    	gateway 192.168.1.1
    
    auto eth0
    
    #Wireless
    #auto ath0
    iface ath0 inet dhcp
    allow-hotplug ath0
    
    #iface ath0 inet manual
    wpa-driver madwifi
    wpa-roam /etc/network/wpa_supplicant.conf
    
    #iface default inet dhcp
    Restart networking and let's see if we are closer.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: lo network device does not start up automatically

    thanks, but that didnt work.. now im gettin an error on line 18

    Code:
     * Reconfiguring network interfaces...
    /etc/network/interfaces:18: misplaced option
    ifdown: couldn't read interfaces file "/etc/network/interfaces"
    /etc/network/interfaces:18: misplaced option
    ifup: couldn't read interfaces file "/etc/network/interfaces"
                                                                         [fail]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    1,031

    Re: lo network device does not start up automatically

    I'm only guessing here, but I'd say you want :

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    iface eth0 inet static
    	address 192.168.1.4
    	netmask 255.255.255.0
    	gateway 192.168.1.1
    
    auto eth0
    
    #Wireless
    
    #auto ath0
    allow-hotplug ath0
    
    iface ath0 inet dhcp
            wpa-driver madwifi
            wpa-roam /etc/network/wpa_supplicant.conf

    I don't think theres any such thing as noauto (just don't put auto in ), which was the problem with your original, although I also doubt you wanted manual as the interface setup, but you will know better than us.

    In the 2nd version, the allow hotplug line was within the interface definition...I don't think that's right.

    Give it a whirl, and let us know how it goes

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: lo network device does not start up automatically

    Thanks a lot that worked How do I thank post a thank you?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    1,031

    Re: lo network device does not start up automatically

    Click the little medal in the bottom right of my post....I like getting thanked...makes me feel useful

    Glad it worked for you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: lo network device does not start up automatically

    My wireless adapter does not load up when I reboot.. What can I change back so that I can get the interface to load at start-up?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    the BliZzard of OzZ!
    Beans
    432
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: lo network device does not start up automatically

    Quote Originally Posted by supergenius23 View Post
    My wireless adapter does not load up when I reboot.. What can I change back so that I can get the interface to load at start-up?
    I use Ndiswrapper. You look like your using madwifi. My network interface is as follows:

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    I load up wireless, and wired at the same time without a problem. But don't take my word for it.

    Ifconfig:

    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1c:c0:30:b3:dd
              inet addr:192.168.0.202  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe60::32e:e6gg:feda:9386/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:165 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:58 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
              RX bytes:19240 (18.7 KB)  TX bytes:8245 (8.0 KB)
              Base address:0x2000 Memory:e7200000-e7220000
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:250 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:250 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:12500 (12.2 KB)  TX bytes:12500 (12.2 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1e:e5:da:93:86
              inet addr:192.168.0.102  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::21e:e5ff:feda:9386/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:15783 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:15492 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:16650877 (15.8 MB)  TX bytes:2199158 (2.0 MB)
    Last edited by Unix_Slayer; June 8th, 2008 at 12:05 AM.
    Screwed by the Demon Gates! To never return!
    Kbuntu 8.04 Hardy - Intel D5400XS Mobo - Dual QX9775 Quad core Extremes * 2 x 12mb cache - 8gb DDR2 @ 1600 mhz FSB - Dual NVidia 9600 GT 512mb OverClocked
    SSSSccccrrreeaammmmmmming........!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: lo network device does not start up automatically

    Maybe this can help debug the problem

    Code:
     * Reconfiguring network interfaces...                                           * Stopping NTP server ntpd
       ...done.
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    wpa_supplicant: wpa-roam can only be used with the "manual" inet METHOD
    run-parts: /etc/network/if-pre-up.d/wpasupplicant exited with return code 1
    There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.ath0.pid with pid 134519072
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
    Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    1,031

    Re: lo network device does not start up automatically

    its possible you need to add madwifi to /etc/modules so that the module is loaded at boot, but frankly I just don't know as I use ndiswrapper and have my interfaces configured by the network manager rather than statically in the interfaces file.

    With that set up, I have to add ndiswrapper to /etc/modules to ensure the module is loaded.

    Worth investigating anyway

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •