Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dell Inspiron 1750 - Can't Connect

Beans

Cool Dell Inspiron 1750 - Can't Connect

I'm sure there's probably other topics about this, and I'm sorry in advance if there is. However, I'm easily frustrated and I just want to get this done.

I'm 100% brand-new to ubuntu and linux in general. I installed Ubunutu just fine, but I can't seem to connect to the network. My network has no security (no WEP or anything, I turned it off to try and get this to work) but I still can't get in. Even if I plug my laptop right up to my desktop's LAN cable, I can't get Ubuntu to connect to the internet at all. What's the simplest, quickest way to get this working for a complete and total newb?

Beans

Re: Dell Inspiron 1750 - Can't Connect

go to the terminal and type ifconfig and post output here

Beans

I have no internet on my laptop so I'll try and re-type it here as best as I can (oh boy, this is gonna be a project.)

Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:18:8b:a8:8d:7f
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collision:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 0)
              Interrupt:17

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436 Metric:1
              RX packets:1532 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1532 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:76600 (74.8 KB)  TX bytes:76600 (74.8 KB)
    It may be a little different then it would be at my house since I'm at my girlfriend's, but they're both the same brand + model number of Linksys router and it's the same computer, so I don't see what difference it would make.

Beans