Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: No sound mixing ALSA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    10

    No sound mixing ALSA

    Newbie user here- using 8.04 with a Logitech USB headset.

    Problem - No sound from more than one app at one time.

    Ive tried system->preferences->sound and anything but alsa doesnt seem to give back a sound under testing.

    Example one - Ive had WoW and ventrilo running (at the same time) so that i can hear ppl speak, but cant talk to them while i can hear wow sounds, and the opposite (i can talk and hear ppl in vent, but cant hear sound from WoW)

    Example 2 - I cant use Rhythmbox to listem to music and hear anything else that requires sound

    Ive setup wine to use alsa for wow and vent, and its the only one that works.

    How do i get Ubuntu to mix the audio so i can hear / do 2 things at once? (listen to music + play a game for example)

    Any ideas, or help appreciated. Ive searched and tried a few things (including losing all sound / partial sound etc at one point, then stressing ive blown it all )
    Last edited by bl4ck32; June 3rd, 2008 at 03:40 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    4,377
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: No sound mixing ALSA

    check and see if you have libesd-alsa0. This is the Enlightened Sound Demon which allows multiple audio streams on one device. It is in the repos if you don't have it.

    You should also set your Sound preferences to alsa instead of automatic and set your alsa default to your sound card. You can get asoundconf-gtk for that. It is handy if you have more than one sound card or switch between pulseaudio and alsa a lot.

    I also use the gnome-alsamixer. It has a mix button. All the sound from everywhere plays all at once for me if I have them all unmuted in the mixer.

    The only problem I have now is with flash but everyone has that problem and until flash is fixed I guess I will have to live with it.

    I do not use WoW or ventrilo but your problem sounds more generic and this should fix you up, at least with alsa.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: No sound mixing ALSA

    Quote Originally Posted by markbuntu View Post
    check and see if you have libesd-alsa0. This is the Enlightened Sound Demon which allows multiple audio streams on one device. It is in the repos if you don't have it.
    i tried :
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libesd-alsa0
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    libesd-alsa0 is already the newest version.
    The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
      libclucene0ldbl libxine1-x librdf0 kdebase-runtime-data-common
      libxine1-misc-plugins libxcb-xv0 mysql-common libxine1-bin librasqal0
      libmysqlclient15off libxine1-ffmpeg libgmp3c2 kdelibs5-data libgif4
      libxcb-shape0 libstreamanalyzer0 libxine1-plugins libpq5 libstreams0
      libraptor1 libmodplug0c2 libxcb-shm0 libmpcdec3 libxine1-console libxine1
    Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 9 not upgraded.
    ?
    Quote Originally Posted by markbuntu View Post
    You should also set your Sound preferences to alsa instead of automatic and set your alsa default to your sound card. You can get asoundconf-gtk for that. It is handy if you have more than one sound card or switch between pulseaudio and alsa a lot.

    I also use the gnome-alsamixer. It has a mix button. All the sound from everywhere plays all at once for me if I have them all unmuted in the mixer.
    all sound prefs are set to alsa, and the default is my ush headphones. Only audio i have is the onboard one that comes with the Gigabyte DS3.

    Ive also got the gnome -alsamixer installed...
    Last edited by bl4ck32; June 4th, 2008 at 05:52 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Beans
    2,180
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: No sound mixing ALSA

    To activate software mixing in alsa, you need to set up a ~/.asoundconf file.
    The easiest way I have found is:

    1. Find out what your card is called by asoundconf:
    Code:
    asoundconf list
    This will output the name of your soundcard, or if you have more than one card it will give you a list.

    2. Make asoundconf generate a default configuration for that card:
    Code:
    asoundconf set-default-card name_of_card
    where name_of_card is the name of your card as it was reported by the previous command.

    3. Restart alsa:
    Code:
    sudo alsa force-reload
    (or reboot your computer).

    Now alsa will use the dmix (software mixing) plugin as default output unless you specifically set an application to acces the hardware directly.
    One problem that still remains is that pulseaudio ignores the alsa settings and uses the hardware directly, so if you use pulseaudio it will block anything else from accessing the sound card.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: No sound mixing ALSA

    Quote Originally Posted by jocko View Post
    To activate software mixing in alsa, you need to set up a ~/.asoundconf file.
    The easiest way I have found is:
    Had set my default sound device already (my USB headset)

    alsa is working fine for all applications. Its just that if i try to run more than 1 thing at a time, i cant get audio from anything but the first thing loaded...

    BTW my ~/.asoundconf file only contains the following :

    Code:
    # ALSA library configuration file
    
    # Include settings that are under the control of asoundconf(1).
    # (To disable these settings, comment out this line.)
    </home/<username>/.asoundrc.asoundconf>
    Is it supposed to contain anything?...like to enable sound mixing?

    the : </home/<username>/.asoundrc.asoundconf> file contains :
    Code:
    # ALSA library configuration file managed by asoundconf(1).
    #
    # MANUAL CHANGES TO THIS FILE WILL BE OVERWRITTEN!
    #
    # Manual changes to the ALSA library configuration should be implemented
    # by editing the ~/.asoundrc file, not by editing this file.
    !defaults.pcm.card Headset
    defaults.ctl.card Headset
    defaults.pcm.device 0
    defaults.pcm.subdevice -1
    defaults.pcm.nonblock 1
    defaults.pcm.ipc_key 5678293
    defaults.pcm.ipc_gid audio
    defaults.pcm.ipc_perm 0660
    defaults.pcm.dmix.max_periods 0
    defaults.pcm.dmix.rate 48000
    defaults.pcm.dmix.format S16_LE
    defaults.pcm.dmix.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.dmix.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.dsnoop.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.dsnoop.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.front.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.front.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.rear.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.rear.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.center_lfe.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.center_lfe.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.side.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.side.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.surround40.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.surround40.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.surround41.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.surround41.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.surround50.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.surround50.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.surround51.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.surround51.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.surround71.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.surround71.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.iec958.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.iec958.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.pcm.modem.card defaults.pcm.card
    defaults.pcm.modem.device defaults.pcm.device
    defaults.rawmidi.card 0
    defaults.rawmidi.device 0
    defaults.rawmidi.subdevice -1
    defaults.hwdep.card 0
    defaults.hwdep.device 0
    defaults.timer.class 2
    defaults.timer.sclass 0
    defaults.timer.card 0
    defaults.timer.device 0
    defaults.timer.subdevice 0
    defaults.namehint.showall off
    defaults.namehint.basic on
    defaults.namehint.extended off
    Last edited by bl4ck32; June 5th, 2008 at 08:28 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: No sound mixing ALSA

    SOLVED!!!! - ALMOST (no mic now, but sound works great!)

    Added this to my ~/.asoundrc file:

    Code:
    # ALSA library configuration file
    
    # Include settings that are under the control of asoundconf(1).
    # (To disable these settings, comment out this line.)
    </home/<user>/.asoundrc.asoundconf>
    
         pcm.!default {
    	type hw
    	card 0
    	}
    
    	ctl.!default {
    	type hw           
    	card 0
            }
    
        pcm.!default {
    	type plug
    	slave.pcm "dmixer"
        }
    
     
        pcm.dmixer  {
    	type dmix
    	ipc_key 1024
    	slave {
    	    pcm "hw:1,0"
    	    period_time 0
    	    period_size 1024
    	    buffer_size 4096
    	    rate 44100
    	}
    	bindings {
    	    0 0
    	    1 1
    	}
        }
     
        ctl.dmixer {
    	type hw
    	card 0
        }
    	
        pcm.mixin {
            type dsnoop
            ipc_key 5978293	# must be unique for all dmix plugins!!!!
            ipc_key_add_uid yes
            slave {
                    pcm "hw:0,0"
    		channels 2
    		period_size 1024
    		buffer_size 4096
    		rate 44100
    		periods 0 
    		period_time 0
            }
            bindings {
                    0 0
                    0 1
            }
        }
    I can now hear sound from multiple things at once

    Now, to see if i can use my mic as well
    Last edited by bl4ck32; June 5th, 2008 at 02:06 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: No sound mixing ALSA

    bl4ck32.. I need your help.
    Is this your sound preference looks like?


    my problem still exist after I follow instructions from you and jocko
    thanx..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: No sound mixing ALSA

    Quote Originally Posted by blackmachine View Post
    bl4ck32.. I need your help.
    Is this your sound preference looks like?


    my problem still exist after I follow instructions from you and jocko
    thanx..
    nope...

    the first 3 are set to alsa - Advanced....etc

    the last one (default mixer tracks) is set to my Logitech USB headset (ALSA mixer)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    228

    Re: No sound mixing ALSA

    I've never had problems with sound coming from multiple apps after installing the alsa-oss package!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: No sound mixing ALSA

    Quote Originally Posted by grndslm View Post
    I've never had problems with sound coming from multiple apps after installing the alsa-oss package!!!
    Yes, but my pc seems to like the alsa only.

    Searching around here, it seems that what works for one, doesnt mean it will work for all

    I fixed my sound, but now my mic doesnt work....1 step forward...1/2 step back

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •