Thread: Mac Mini - Ethernet port and wireless won't work

Beans

Angry Mac Mini - Ethernet port and wireless won't work

Has anyone had this problem? I have a mac min, (intel), I have Windows XP and it runs just fine, I also have Lepoard as the Mac OS and it runs great too. How ever with Unbuntu 8.4 I cannot get it to recognize the Wireless and wired Network interface cards. Has anyone had this problem and if you did, how did you solve it. I am new to Mac and Linux, just testing different operating systems. For me, Windows so far is the easiest to use and to solve problems. Any help with getting on the internet with the Linux Virtual Machine (Using Parallels) would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks JNCASH

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Mac Mini - Ethernet port and wireless won't work

Quote Originally Posted by jncash View Post
    Has anyone had this problem? I have a mac min, (intel), I have Windows XP and it runs just fine, I also have Lepoard as the Mac OS and it runs great too. How ever with Unbuntu 8.4 I cannot get it to recognize the Wireless and wired Network interface cards. Has anyone had this problem and if you did, how did you solve it. I am new to Mac and Linux, just testing different operating systems. For me, Windows so far is the easiest to use and to solve problems. Any help with getting on the internet with the Linux Virtual Machine (Using Parallels) would be greatly appreciated.
    Just to clarify, Are you running Ubuntu in a VM or are you running it natively on the actual Mac hardware? If you are just running it in a VM, then you have to configure the networking device in the VM configuration, your problem is not with Ubuntu. (also, for WiFi, you don't use it in Ubuntu... you connect in OSX (or Windows whatever you are using) and the VM uses that connection to get internet access.

Beans