Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: XP in Vmware? On a g4

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    XP in Vmware? On a g4

    Strange question for an apple forum I know, but is it possible (and easy) to install XP with VMware in a G4 powerbook?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    176
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: XP in Vmware? On a g4

    no, you need a hardware emulator, like QEMU.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: XP in Vmware? On a g4

    Is it worth it? Or might as well forget it? I would want to have photoshop and lightroom, but it's probably best to just do a dual boot with mac osx and ubuntu... What do you think? Or put osx in vmware?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Saxony (Germany)
    Beans
    226
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: XP in Vmware? On a g4

    Quote Originally Posted by ruialexbarbosa View Post
    Strange question for an apple forum I know, but is it possible (and easy) to install XP with VMware in a G4 powerbook? I would want to have photoshop and lightroom
    really strange thinking...

    AFAIK there is no vmware port for ppc linux.
    To run OSX inside ubuntu there is MOL, but I only tested it for feisty (7.04). And it isnt running (yet) on hardy.

    You can emulate a x86PC with qemu and run windows on it. But forget about any of the adobe cs progs. I think they wont start at all, or at least take hours to open...

    Take gimp and fspot... For most usual tasks it will suffice

    Or contact your adobe support and try to change your licence to OSX-Adobe CS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: XP in Vmware? On a g4

    Maybe the best would be to dual boot? Lightroom is a must.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Saxony (Germany)
    Beans
    226
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: XP in Vmware? On a g4

    Dual boot is no problem. And if you want to use lightroom in OSX, it is suggested
    If you have osx already installed, ubuntu will install itself as dual boot by default.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •