Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Installed Kubuntu, then Ubuntu, now Grub 15

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    4

    Unhappy Installed Kubuntu, then Ubuntu, now Grub 15

    So here's what I've done to get myself a grub error 15 at boot:

    1. I had XP installed on the system.
    2. I installed Kubuntu 8.04, using the installer to resize the XP partition. I had no problems with the boot manager that it installed.
    3. I decided I'd prefer Ubuntu, so I used its installer to reformat the partition that Kubuntu was on and installed. I believe my first problem was leaving the "install bootloader" box checked at this point.

    After the Ubuntu install I rebooted to a grub 15 error. After reading lots of these threads I think I've got some of the relevant information ready by booting to the Ubuntu install CD:

    sda1 is my Dell utility partition (48 MB)
    sda2 is my XP partition (60 GB)
    sda3 is the Dell media partition (3.4 GB)
    sda4 shows Extended (12 GB, not sure where this came from)
    sda5 shows Linux (12 GB, what I set up for Linux)
    sda6 is swap (600 MB)

    /boot/grub/menu.lst doesn't exist

    This is on my laptop so there's only one SATA hard drive installed.

    What do I need to do to get a boot menu set up so that I can select XP or Ubuntu? Are there now two boot managers installed?

    I'm pretty green with linux so please spell out what I need to do. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Here & Now
    Beans
    16,549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Installed Kubuntu, then Ubuntu, now Grub 15

    Boot your Live CD and post from the Terminal:
    sudo fdisk -l

    Dr. Fernando Duran Dollenz
    Libertad 584
    6824871

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    City of Pines
    Beans
    3,585

    Re: Installed Kubuntu, then Ubuntu, now Grub 15

    What about giving this command on your terminal:

    Code:

    Code:
    cat /boot/grub/device.map
    Does it show you something?
    Steady movement is more important than speed, much of the time. So long as there is a regular progression of Stimuli to get your mental hooks into, there is room for lateral movement. Once this begins, its rate is a matter of discretion.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: Installed Kubuntu, then Ubuntu, now Grub 15

    Disk /dev/sda: 78.5 GB, 78518522880 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9546 cylinders Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes Disk identifier: 0x41ab2316

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 6 48163+ de Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2 * 7 7504 60227685 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 9116 9545 3453975 db CP/M / CTOS / ...
    /dev/sda4 7505 9115 12940357+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 7505 9041 12345921 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 9042 9115 594373+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris



    cat /boot/grub/device.map gives: no such file or directory

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    N.C.
    Beans
    4,796
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Installed Kubuntu, then Ubuntu, now Grub 15

    Try reinstalling grub, using the Ubuntu live cd:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=224351

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: Installed Kubuntu, then Ubuntu, now Grub 15

    Quote Originally Posted by confused57 View Post
    Try reinstalling grub, using the Ubuntu live cd:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=224351
    Thanks. Just tried that and got an error 15 when I did find /boot/grub/stage1. I also tried the workaround of mounting my Ubuntu partition as /mnt/root but that was also a nogo.

    Interestingly, after mounting /dev/sda5 as /mnt/root I get nothing when I ls /mnt/root. Is it possible that something went very wrong with my install and I just need to reinstall?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    N.C.
    Beans
    4,796
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Installed Kubuntu, then Ubuntu, now Grub 15

    Quote Originally Posted by bigric View Post
    Thanks. Just tried that and got an error 15 when I did find /boot/grub/stage1. I also tried the workaround of mounting my Ubuntu partition as /mnt/root but that was also a nogo.

    Interestingly, after mounting /dev/sda5 as /mnt/root I get nothing when I ls /mnt/root. Is it possible that something went very wrong with my install and I just need to reinstall?
    It would probably be quicker & easier just to reinstall Ubuntu, installing grub to (hd0), which is the default location(mbr).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: Installed Kubuntu, then Ubuntu, now Grub 15

    OK, the second install attempt gave an IO error at 60%. I ran a check on the install CD, and naturally, it failed. I'm redownloading and burning right now, so hopefully I'll have better results this evening. Thanks for everybody's help. Now I have something to do during the commercials on Lost tonight.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holland
    Beans
    668
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Installed Kubuntu, then Ubuntu, now Grub 15

    I react to:

    sda1 is my Dell utility partition (48 MB)
    sda2 is my XP partition (60 GB)
    sda3 is the Dell media partition (3.4 GB)
    sda4 shows Extended (12 GB, not sure where this came from)
    sda5 shows Linux (12 GB, what I set up for Linux)
    sda6 is swap (600 MB)

    You have sda5 and sda6, which are logical partitions, which have to reside within an extended partition, which is sda4. So that is where sda4 comes from , it is a repository for partitions sda5, 6, etc.

    Next: As sda5 and 6 together are 12,6 GB, sda4 must be 12,6 GB or larger.

    Then: You do not need to install Kubuntu and Ubuntu separately, as you would with Ubuntu and, let us say, Fedora or Suse or Mandriva, for which you would have to prepare separate (logical) partitions.

    You need only to first install one (Let's say Kubuntu), and after that you install ubuntu-desktop from Synaptic, or in a console (sudo apt-get ubuntu-desktop). It only takes some time for a lot has to be downloaded and after that veryfied, installed and configured.

    If you can't get Grub reinstalled from the above advice, please install Kubuntu again, and after that Ubuntu as I described.

    It's nice to know that (most or all) Gnome programs work in Kubuntu and same for KDE-programs in Ubuntu. Gnome and KDE are both great, and have their own advantages and disadvantages. I prefer KDE however for the KDE-translations (Dutch) are much better

    Topsiho

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •