Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help with remote desktop solutions

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Need help with remote desktop solutions

I am wanting to know the differences in usability for all the different remote desktop solutions there are for a linux system.

The ones I know of are ssh, vnc, and nx.

I have tried using freenx server, and I kind of got it working then it stopped after awhile. I kept getting error messages that the server had timed out.

My setup is this. I've got an Ubuntu 8.04 desktop which I want to be the host server. I've got a laptop that I want to be the client. They are both on my wireless network at home.

All I'm wanting to be able to do is view my desktop's desktop on my laptop. The laptop is running Xubuntu 8.04 with IceWM.

Obviously I am new to this so something that is also the simplest to configure would be the best option.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Need help with remote desktop solutions

Also what are the disadvantages to each one of the different solutions?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Hey,
    Check out these links (2 methods)

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SSHHowto -- the forwarding X section(after you have regular ssh setup and working)

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VNCOverSSH

I use the method in the first link
    hitting CTRL+ALT+F1 and typing
    Code:
    xinit -e ssh -XCT yourusername@your.host gnome-session -- :1
    its pretty slow though over the internet...but more secure than just vnc

If you wanna go through just your LAN it'll be much quicker

Hope this helps

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

If you wanna go through just your LAN it'll be much quicker
    Do you mean using the way described in the first link or just doing VNC?

Beans
    Distro

I mean if you connect through your LAN(local area network)

If your laptop is on ur home network with your desktop it'll be quick