Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: how to update on the command line?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Austrian in Taiwan
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    how to update on the command line?

    I have now installed a Ubuntu server. I wonder how do I update the system whenever something is available? The server has no graphic, no icon to be informed, no clickable install now, ...

    BTW, is there a way to get update information via email, messengers, so that I know that the server needs an update?

    bye

    R.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,868

    Re: how to update on the command line?

    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get upgrade

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    157

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Iowa
    Beans
    113
    Distro
    Xubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: how to update on the command line?

    sudo apt-get update

    sudo apt-get upgrade

    that should do it
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1
    EPIC FAIL
    Quote Originally Posted by daengbo View Post
    Are you using Ubuntu?
    Quote Originally Posted by Pokerface1969 View Post
    No I'm not.. Should I be? What is Ubuntu?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Austrian in Taiwan
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: how to update on the command line?

    Maybe I said something wrong.

    The server does not have a graphical interface, so it has also not the notification icon that updates are ready.

    The quoted command sudo apt-get update, just updates the list of possible updates, but it does not show me any detail of updates available and it does not install any updates.

    bye

    R.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Beans
    427

    Re: how to update on the command line?

    Quote Originally Posted by ELMIT View Post
    Maybe I said something wrong.

    The server does not have a graphical interface, so it has also not the notification icon that updates are ready.

    The quoted command sudo apt-get update, just updates the list of possible updates, but it does not show me any detail of updates available and it does not install any updates.

    bye

    R.
    You're right, apt-get update just updates the list of software available in the repository. You need to run 'sudo apt-get upgrade' afterwards in order to actually perform any upgrades.
    Here we are, trapped in the amber of the moment. There is no why.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Austrian in Taiwan
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: how to update on the command line?

    Thanks!

    I am just upgrading other machines, so I was confused about upgrade and distribution upgrade.
    That worked now.

    Is there a method I can use to get informed which of my servers have updates available? or just do these two commands daily?

    bye

    R.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    /home
    Beans
    483

    Smile Re: how to update on the command line?

    Aptitude, maybe.

    just
    Code:
    sudo aptitude
    without anything else, will bring forth a nice, nearly gui-ish, tool, much like a text-mode version of synaptic.

    Look for upgradable in the list of categories.
    Don't eff with The Cult...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,868

    Re: how to update on the command line?

    Quote Originally Posted by ELMIT View Post
    Thanks!

    I am just upgrading other machines, so I was confused about upgrade and distribution upgrade.
    That worked now.

    Is there a method I can use to get informed which of my servers have updates available? or just do these two commands daily?

    bye

    R.
    i don't think so, but if your lazy like i am, you can use alias's to save you some typing, you just add them to the .bashrc
    here's mine:

    Code:
    alias su='sudo -i'
    alias update='sudo apt-get update;sudo apt-get -u dist-upgrade'
    alias install='sudo apt-get install'
    alias remove='sudo apt-get remove --purge'
    alias search='apt-cache search'
    alias show='apt-cache show'
    alias clean='sudo apt-get clean'
    alias fix='sudo apt-get -f install'
    you might want to change the "dist-upgrade" to just "upgrade" i run debian so it's safe for me, wouldn't want you accidentally jumping up to a buggy release.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •