Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Seriously - Mathcad (or something similiar?)

Beans

Seriously - Mathcad (or something similiar?)

I am a structural engineer. among my duties is the mass production of calculations for various items. often these are the almost the same from one job to the next (one beam is 30' long with 500plf, the next 25 with 700... same calc, just change the variables)

where i can i create a mathcad report that i simply change a few variables at the top of the program and print the calcs...

but i have found this near impossible with linux...

while i could use a spreadsheet application, that isn't 'presentable' material (i need to show the calculations themselves, the assumptions being made, etc.)

does anyone know of a program, or mixture of programs, that i can use in linux to accomplish this? i would love if it were some add on to latex that allows for the creation of fields and then the subsequent recalculation of the following formulas...

Beans

Re: Seriously - Mathcad (or something similiar?)

I too am an engineer and like to use MathCad. I've been using linux (Ubuntu) for about 6 months, so can't claim to be anything like an expert. But so far I've been unable to find anything similar to MathCad. The closest I've come (in math functionality) is the Python software. It's a very powerful programming language with lots of modules available to download for graphing, special calculations, and all sorts of tasks. But it requires that you write a program to accomplish what you want to do. Not much like MathCad I'm afraid, and it certainly doesn't provide the documentation aspects of MathCad. I too wish I could find something like it.

Beans
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

Well I dont know what your guys needs are, but please look at octave it is a free clone/similar of matlab and shoudl work for you guys..

Beans