Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    7

    KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

    Hello,

    Trying to put together a script to change wallpaper under Kubuntu KDE4.

    Why?

    Because I have installed weather-wallpaper (http://mundogeek.net/weather-wallpaper/) and would like to update my wallpaper with the latest wallpaper image generated by the application every hour. I know that the application is supposed to do this itself, but this doesn't work under KDE 4.

    Yes I could submit a bug to the author (and probably will do), but I would like learn how to script something for myself in the meantime...

    Looked at:
    Code:
    dcop kdesktop KBackgroundIface setWallpaper /tmp/wallpaper1.png
    but get "object not accessible for "kdesktop"

    Does anyone know how to scriptomatically change wallpaper in Kubuntu KDE4?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    3,052

    Re: KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

    edit: Doh, KDE4, reading comprehension: failed, below poster > me
    Quote Originally Posted by me
    Code:
    $ dcop kdesktop KBackgroundIface setWallpaper <desktop number> "path to background" <mode number>
    Code:
    $ dcop kdesktop KBackgroundIface setWallpaper 1 "/usr/share/default_blue.jpg" 6
    1 seems to be wallpaper disabled, only background color
    2 seems to be wallpaper tiled with first image in top left corner
    3 seems to be wallpaper tiled with first image centered
    4 seems to be wallpaper centered stretched with proportions kept until one side hits screen, space filled by background color
    5 seems to be same as 4, though wallpaper aligned to top left and space after stretching filled by tiling
    6 seems to be wallpaper stretched to fit screen (what we all use, hm?)
    Last edited by Zorael; May 22nd, 2008 at 03:24 PM.
    ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Beans
    795
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

    dcop has changed to dbus in KDE4

    Try with to issue 'qdbus' (or is it just dbus, not at home atm) in a terminal and see the choices you have.
    Open mind, open source!
    Keep control of computer usage with timekpr
    Screensaver for Amarok? AmarokScreenSaver
    My (Norwegian) blog about motorcycles and MotoGP

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    7

    Re: KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

    Quote Originally Posted by Zorael View Post
    edit: Doh, KDE4, reading comprehension: failed, below poster > me
    LOL no worries.

    Quote Originally Posted by .nedberg View Post
    dcop has changed to dbus in KDE4

    Try with to issue 'qdbus' (or is it just dbus, not at home atm) in a terminal and see the choices you have.
    Here's the output:
    chris@d600:~$ qdbus
    :1.1
    org.kde.klauncher
    :1.10
    org.freedesktop.ScreenSaver
    org.kde.krunner
    org.kde.screensaver
    :1.12
    org.kde.plasma
    :1.14
    org.kde.kaccess
    :1.16
    org.kde.kmix
    :1.2
    org.kde.NepomukServer
    org.kde.kded
    :1.20
    :1.21
    org.kde.klipper
    :1.23
    :1.24
    org.kde.konsole
    :1.26
    :1.6
    org.kde.ksmserver
    org.kde.ksmserver-5898
    :1.7
    org.kde.kwin
    org.kde.kwin-5908
    :1.8
    org.kde.knotify
    org.freedesktop.DBus
    chris@d600:~$
    org.kde.plasma looks like a potential winner to me (my limited knowledge is showing again) could be wrong thou..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Beans
    795
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

    Still not at home...

    try
    Code:
    qdbus org.kde.plasma
    it will give you some more choices... Keep going till you find the right one.
    Open mind, open source!
    Keep control of computer usage with timekpr
    Screensaver for Amarok? AmarokScreenSaver
    My (Norwegian) blog about motorcycles and MotoGP

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    22

    Re: KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

    I think I have hit on the right forum; I need some help w/removing images from the background folder, the system one, not the pictures in the active wallpaper folder. There is an image there that I don’t want, I don’t know if it came by default, ( I don’t think so), or if it came with one of the themes, but it’s not quite the thing to have on when the boss comes by. I tried to delete it, and it won’t allow it, I tried to open, then remove, and it won’t allow that either, thanks for your help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    7

    Re: KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

    I have found this:
    method void org.kde.plasma.App.initializeWallpaper()
    But running:
    Code:
    qdbus org.kde.plasma /MainApplication org.kde.plasma.App.initializeWallpaper
    doesn't do anything It just returns me to the console prompt (after a line feed)

    Have also installed qdbusviewer which is helping me find the correct setting.. Shame qdbusviewer doesn't have a search function!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    7

    Re: KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

    hmm kinda confused now. The more I look at this the more confused i get...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Beans
    795
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

    I had a look at it, could not find anything useable. Sorry!

    I found a file, ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-applets (I think the name was), it had a reference to the wallpaper. I tried changing that to something else and refresh the desktop, but the wallpaper did not change.
    Open mind, open source!
    Keep control of computer usage with timekpr
    Screensaver for Amarok? AmarokScreenSaver
    My (Norwegian) blog about motorcycles and MotoGP

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The U. S. of A.
    Beans
    163
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Thumbs down Re: KDE 4 Wallpaper Change Script

    Where can I find the current wallpaper for KDE4?

    (I can chop it out of a file if it isn't accessable through DBus.)
    || Kubuntu x86_64 (15.10 Dev.) || KDE 4.9.00 ||
    || Dell Inspiron 570 || 8GB PC3-10600 DDR3 RAM || AMD Phenom II X4 820 @ 2.8Ghz ||
    || Logitech M570 Trackball || Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard ||
    Conky: ... no such configuration: 'normal'

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •