Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51

Thread: conky setup (config)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    30

    conky setup (config)

    i am trying to get conky to appear on my desktop under all the other windows. however, i cant even see it at all/ cant configure it either. it is installed, i used synaptic to install. when i open terminal to configure it, it gives me the space/spaces to configure it, but doesnt seem to do anything with that info. and conky still doesnt appear, any help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,861

    Re: conky setup (config)

    in a terminal type: conky
    if that works than conkys fine and working
    now kill it: killall conky

    to set up: cp /etc/conky/conky.conf ~/.conkyrc

    conkyrc is where you put the settings, open it with a text editor:
    editor ~/.conkyrc

    now you probably asking yourself what are the settings? open a terminal and type: man conky
    that's the manual.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    /earth/US/Illinois
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: conky setup (config)

    Excellent source if you dont know where to start customizing, just copy someone elses and modify it for your own: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=281865
    Dialup or no internet on your Ubuntu box? Have no fear, Keryx is here! Keryx Project
    My blog

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    30

    Re: conky setup (config)

    when i type "comky" into the terminal, as i would to run it, it says "Conky: missing text block in configuration; exiting". conky doesnt even open

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,861

    Re: conky setup (config)

    okay, sounds like a screwed install, try again.

    sudo apt-get remove --purge conky
    sudo apt-get install conky

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kansas City
    Beans
    1,509
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: conky setup (config)

    its not a screwed install, they're missing the TEXT block in the rc file... my guess would be missing an rc file all together

    cruise these forums, try copy/pasting a random .conkyrc or download one, throw it into your home folder then try loading conky again

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,861

    Re: conky setup (config)

    Quote Originally Posted by Nythain View Post
    its not a screwed install, they're missing the TEXT block in the rc file... my guess would be missing an rc file all together

    cruise these forums, try copy/pasting a random .conkyrc or download one, throw it into your home folder then try loading conky again
    really, if it's not doing what it's suppose to do, i would say it was screwed. your not suppose to need a ~/.conkyrc for it to work, that's to customize it, if it can't even start normally, what other problems could it have? why take the chance?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    /earth/US/Illinois
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: conky setup (config)

    Quote Originally Posted by kerry_s View Post
    really, if it's not doing what it's suppose to do, i would say it was screwed. your not suppose to need a ~/.conkyrc for it to work, that's to customize it, if it can't even start normally, what other problems could it have? why take the chance?
    I agree that conky shouldnt need a .conkyrc to work. I installed and ran it without a configuration file and it worked fine. I think the purge and reinstall is a good idea, and think of it this way, its not going to hurt anything but cost him a few extra seconds at his computer, which isnt necessarily a bad thing either.
    Dialup or no internet on your Ubuntu box? Have no fear, Keryx is here! Keryx Project
    My blog

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    30

    Re: conky setup (config)

    the purge worked. thanks alot. when i tried to install it the first time, i used synaptic. i guess it fowled up the install. i actually forgot about installing it from the terminal.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    30

    Re: conky setup (config)

    i now have conky running. however, i cant seem to make a .conkyrc file. what is the process for that?

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •