Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problems with Hardy

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Unhappy Problems with Hardy

    I upgraded from Gutsy to Hardy and I'm having a number of problems. My sound eventually goes out sometimes, firefox wont start sometimes after quitting, nautilus freezes and when I force quit it, it reopens frozen/blank. I keep having to restart to circumvent the problems temporarily. I had zero problems until I "upgraded." Any ideas? I sure could use some help. :/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    /earth/US/Illinois
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Problems with Hardy

    You should do a fresh install, generally upgrades cause problems migrating settings between versions. You can spend time tweaking your upgraded installation to get back to stable status or you can do a fresh install and everything should work just fine. Same with Windows...always do a fresh install, its just better.
    Dialup or no internet on your Ubuntu box? Have no fear, Keryx is here! Keryx Project
    My blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Problems with Hardy

    Ok thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    79
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Problems with Hardy

    i agree with EXCID, fresh install is always better, with new versions of different applications, transitioning can be a real pain.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Beans
    1,087
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Problems with Hardy

    Fresh install!
    I had a lot of problems upgrading directly... after a fresh install, everything is working perfectly!
    "There are 10 types of people: Those who read binary and those who don't"
    >>>"who is general failure and why is he reading my files"<<<
    The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 22367
    Howto automount NTFS - My wallpaper

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Beans
    256
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Problems with Hardy

    also install FF2 or go out and get opera (but it doesnt have a flash player yet) or even seamonkey...but FF3 Beta isnt worth it right now...they make a great product but betas aren't worth the annoyance sometimes
    New to Ubuntu and learning...
    Dell Inspiron 9200 Laptop, Xubuntu 11.04 x32
    Pent M 1.8Ghz - 17" widescreen display - 2gb 333mhz ram - 60 gb hard drive

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    /earth/US/Illinois
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Problems with Hardy

    Quote Originally Posted by dtrot55 View Post
    also install FF2 or go out and get opera (but it doesnt have a flash player yet) or even seamonkey...but FF3 Beta isnt worth it right now...they make a great product but betas aren't worth the annoyance sometimes
    I agree, with a fresh install I was unable to view flash (such as youtube) but after updates Firefox 3 beta is running great. One thing I noticed with FF3 beta was excessive hard drive usage. If you delete the urlclassifier files out of your ~/.mozilla/firefox profile folder that should fix the hard drive usage problem.

    Best of luck!
    Dialup or no internet on your Ubuntu box? Have no fear, Keryx is here! Keryx Project
    My blog

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Beans
    1,087
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Problems with Hardy

    I've been using ff3 since my fresh install and thankfully, haven't had any problems whatsoever with it...
    "There are 10 types of people: Those who read binary and those who don't"
    >>>"who is general failure and why is he reading my files"<<<
    The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 22367
    Howto automount NTFS - My wallpaper

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •