Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Synaptic Slow Updates?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Synaptic Slow Updates?

Hi, I'm brand new to Ubuntu... just installed it for the first time.

I'm just wondering why the packages in synaptic are all so out of date? I installed Blender and it's saying that version 2.33 (about 6 months old or so) is the newest version. It also has Firefox using some sort of weird 9.3 and 1.0PR blend, why can't I just use 1.0?

I installed with the Warty 4.10 disc. I added all the listed repositories to my list as well. Are there just not enough people contributing to keep this stuff up to do date or have they not passed some sort of approval yet?

I was using Gentoo...but it's way too hard for a newb, so now I am trying Ubuntu b/c it is supposed to be user friendly...I hope the rumors are true :/

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Synaptic Slow Updates?

Once again, we've discussed this over and over in the context of Firefox 1.0: After ubuntu makes a stable release, package versions stay fixed; except for security-vulnerable package in main.

If you'd like to see new apps, try backports: http://ubuntu-bp.sourceforge.net

Feel free to file feature requests if you would like to see some other package backported.

I already have Firefox 1.0, GAIM 1.1.0, etc.
    Quote Originally Posted by tuxradar
    Linux's audio architecture is more like the layers of the Earth's crust than the network model, with lower levels occasionally erupting on to the surface, causing confusion and distress, and upper layers moving to displace the underlying technology that was originally hidden

Beans
    Distro

Ok, well... that's great, but how come it was not included with the install as an option? The "universe" and whatnot servers were...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

because backports are unofficial -- built by me , after I got extremely tired of choosing between:

1. Using old desktop software with Warty