Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Good Install But Sluggish

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    11

    Smile Good Install But Sluggish

    Hi, I had a good first day yesterday with XUBUNTU. I have an old Dell 500 mhz Pentium 3. I had a 14 Gig hard drive that I used for the install, and I think it did 20% for XUBUNTU and 80% for bin(?) I have 384 megs (or around there, of RAM). Mouse, sound, internet all work. This had been a Windows 98 machine, and I think that is still in there on the other drive.

    I even got Flash to work on websites.

    So I'm happy that it works, but I thought it was going to be a bit more snappy, in terms of boot up, applications opening, and internet performance/flash video playing. I tested my internet speed (cable) at dslreports.com and it was very good download 8000+, so the cable speed is working fine. Is it sluggish because of the chip? the relatively tight HD space? the amount of RAM?

    We are going to use this computer primarily for three things: web browsing, email (working fine), and instant messaging. Can I speed things up for those functions?

    Two other quick questions I'll ask if you got this far: anyone know of a good bridge application to install for xubuntu and can I use Yahoo IM on it?

    Thanks! rocketman_dc

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: Good Install But Sluggish

    Quote Originally Posted by rocketman_dc View Post
    So I'm happy that it works, but I thought it was going to be a bit more snappy, in terms of boot up, applications opening, and internet performance/flash video playing.
    Well, that computer was build for an operating system that is now 10 years old... Ubuntu Hardy is an OS that is just a month old....

    You might consider to use Fluxbuntu instead of Xubuntu... Fluxbuntu is even lighter...

    Quote Originally Posted by rocketman_dc View Post
    Is it sluggish because of the chip? the relatively tight HD space? the amount of RAM?
    384 MB ram should be fine... more would be better... I guess it's a combination of both ram and cpu speed... one you run Xubuntu, open a terminal and run:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install htop
    and then run it by
    Code:
    htop
    That will monitor what process is using how much resources. It should help to determine whether it's the cpu or ram....

    Quote Originally Posted by rocketman_dc View Post
    We are going to use this computer primarily for three things: web browsing, email (working fine), and instant messaging. Can I speed things up for those functions?
    You can use lighter programs but you probably want to use Firefox and Thunderbird, right?

    Quote Originally Posted by rocketman_dc View Post
    anyone know of a good bridge application
    What is a bridge application?


    Quote Originally Posted by rocketman_dc View Post
    can I use Yahoo IM on it?
    There are clients that support more than just Yahoo IM... you might want to use one of them. Have a look through synaptic.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bonnie Scotland
    Beans
    2,307
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Good Install But Sluggish

    Which version of Xubuntu did you install, 6.06, 7.04, 7.10 or 8.04?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Beans
    1,578

    Re: Good Install But Sluggish

    if by "bridge application" you meant Adobe Bridge, F-Spot is similar and (i think) it's pre-installed. If you mean a game for playing bridge, sorry, don't know.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    11

    Re: Good Install But Sluggish

    Quote Originally Posted by gn2 View Post
    Which version of Xubuntu did you install, 6.06, 7.04, 7.10 or 8.04?
    I installed 8.04.

    By bridge, I meant the card game bridge. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NEK Vermont
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: Good Install But Sluggish

    Hello, and welcome to the forums.
    Your boot up time might be increased with the application of some special boot parameters. If you run the command
    Code:
    dmesg
    in your terminal and try to follow the process, you may see some suggestions like: "apic disabled by bios, try using 'lapic.'" Or you might see a failure in proper irq routing. These problem can be fixed up and greatly increase boot time as well as hardware performance. If you find some suggestions you want to try, you apply the parameters to the file /boot/grub/menu.lst You can repost for help on how to do this.

    If you are using Firefox 3 beta5, it is likely very slow. There are a number of browsers available that are much faster. I prefer SeaMonkey, an offshoot of Mozilla it is a sibling to FF and has all the latest security patches that FF has. Also flash works out-of-the-box.

    Pidgin works for YIM. If you want video for YIM, look into gyache.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    6,646
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Good Install But Sluggish

    Quote Originally Posted by hyper_ch View Post
    Well, that computer was build for an operating system that is now 10 years old... Ubuntu Hardy is an OS that is just a month old....
    RAM makes the most difference, and 300+MB should work with Xubuntu fine.

    I've had it on AMD K-6 with 128MB RAM (albeit 7.10 Xubuntu), and while not as fast as W98, it was equivalent to XP.

    As stated, there are ways to speed things up further...

    Browser: Opera
    Window Manager: IceWM, Fluxbox

    Xubuntu uses a lot of Gnome dependencies, which can slow things down. Consider going to the options and turning off Gnome on startup and removing Network Manager.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Antonio Texas
    Beans
    454

    Re: Good Install But Sluggish

    i personally use Fluxbuntu on a machine that's about that old with even less RAM, 128 MB. and it's pretty awesome, you just gotta remember that even though you've got a more lightweight OS you still arent gonna be able to run it like a brand new machine, because no matter what you've still got limited system resources, nothing's gonna change that except for a hardware upgrade. the Fluxbuntu project is sorta stale right now, but they have got a Gutsy release which is easily upgraded to Hardy if you want, but if you're new to Linux and Ubuntu i'd suggest staying with Gutsy for a bit until all the bugs are worked out. hope this helped

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    11

    Question Re: Good Install But Sluggish

    Here are a few possibly interesting lines:

    [ 0.000000] ACPI: RSDP signature @ 0xC00F6B80 checksum 0
    [ 0.000000] ACPI: RSDP 000F6B80, 0014 (r0 PTLTD )
    [ 0.000000] ACPI: RSDT 040FDB3C, 0028 (r1 PTLTD RSDT 0 PTL 1000000)
    [ 0.000000] ACPI: FACP 040FF78C, 0074 (r1 DELL KUBLAI 19991105 PTL F4240)
    [ 0.000000] ACPI: DSDT 040FDB64, 1C28 (r1 Intel S2440BX 0 MSFT 1000004)
    [ 0.000000] ACPI: FACS 040FFBC0, 0040
    [ 0.000000] ACPI: BIOS age (1999) fails cutoff (2000), acpi=force is required to enable ACPI
    [ 0.000000] ACPI: Disabling ACPI support


    [ 59.360160] EISA: Probing bus 0 at eisa.0
    [ 59.360184] Cannot allocate resource for EISA slot 1
    [ 59.360226] Cannot allocate resource for EISA slot 7
    [ 59.360235] Cannot allocate resource for EISA slot 8
    [ 59.360243] EISA: Detected 0 cards.

    61.395555] thermal: Unknown symbol acpi_processor_set_thermal_limit

    92.305723] PCI: Found IRQ 9 for device 0000:00:10.0
    [ 92.311598] PCI: Sharing IRQ 9 with 0000:00:07.2
    [ 92.311622] PCI: Sharing IRQ 9 with 0000:00:0f.1
    [ 92.317779] pcilynx0: allocated PCL memory 4096 Bytes @ 0xd5327000
    [ 92.317875] pcilynx0: allocated interrupt 9
    [ 92.317890] pcilynx0: remapped memory spaces reg 0xd696c000, rom 0xd6a80000, ram 0xd6a40000, aux 0xd6a60000
    [ 92.317905] pcilynx0: found old 1394 PHY
    [ 92.320531] pcilynx0: got bus info block from serial eeprom
    [ 92.320544] pcilynx: read something from serial eeprom, but it does not seem to be a valid bus info block
    [ 92.320573] pcilynx0: resetting bus (long bus reset, no force_root) on request

    132.937614] eth1: no IPv6 routers present
    [ 133.285510] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    [ 3418.771847] vortex: IRQ fifo error
    [ 4101.753346] vortex: IRQ fifo error

    Any of this bad? there was a whole lot more! thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NEK Vermont
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: Good Install But Sluggish

    This suggests you should edit the file /boot/grub/menu.lst: 0.000000] ACPI: BIOS age (1999) fails cutoff (2000), acpi=force is required to enable ACPI
    [ 0.000000] ACPI: Disabling ACPI support


    To do so, open the file with a graphical text editor like so,
    Code:
    gksu gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Scroll down to the section that begins: ####END DEFAULT OPTIONS####
    Just below that is a block of text. Look at the end of the line that begins with the word 'kernel.' Shown below.
    Code:
    ## ## End Default Options ##
    
    title		Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic
    root		(hd0,0)
    kernel		/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=UUID=604f2b74-7f64-424f-a8bf-1160a71d9ea3 ro lapic pci=routeirq
    initrd		/boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic
    quiet
    savedefault
    Where I have 'lapic pci=route irq,' You likely have '--quiet splash.' Delete --quiet splash and add acpi=force
    Save the file by clicking the floppy disk image near the top of the window and reboot. It should boot considerably faster. You can then make a "profile" of the boot process, to save a few more seconds, if you like. This is done from the grub menu presented at boot...where you choose which operating system you want to boot. If you select Ubuntu, then press 'e' you will see the same block of text you have in /boot/grub/menu.lst. Use the arrow key and move to the 'kernel' line. Press e again, then move to the end of the kernel line. You will see where you have already changed the parameters to include 'acpi=force.' after that add a space and the word 'profile,' So it looks like: acpi=force profile
    Hit enter and then press b to boot. This boot will take a few extra seconds while it profiles the process. Subsequent boots will be faster.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •