Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: why? I need to restart the gdm

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    another space
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Edubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Talking (solved)why? I need to restart the gdm

    Badly, just like the title says I have to restart the gdm every time after login ubuntu , or when I switch the desk two or more, desktop just show me the background without panels and I also can't open the menu with the right key of mouse
    Last edited by DeadInQ; May 24th, 2008 at 03:01 PM. Reason: it is solved

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Lilongwe, Malawi
    Beans
    349
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: why? I need to restart the gdm

    Deadinq, I think you need to give more information so that this forum can help. Could you please post what desktop environment or window manager you are using. Is it Gnome, KDE, Fluxbox, Blackbox, XFCE? What version of Ubuntu? What type of computer, desktop, laptop, stand alone or networked? Also anything else you think might be relevant.

    Cheers, Pat.
    It's never too late to have a happy childhood! (Bumper sticker - Zimbabwe)
    To mark your thread solved, go to Thread Tools and select Mark this thread as solved

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Beans
    2,181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: why? I need to restart the gdm

    Quote Originally Posted by Patb View Post
    Deadinq, I think you need to give more information so that this forum can help. Could you please post what desktop environment or window manager you are using. Is it Gnome, KDE, Fluxbox, Blackbox, XFCE? What version of Ubuntu? What type of computer, desktop, laptop, stand alone or networked? Also anything else you think might be relevant.

    Cheers, Pat.
    He's already (indirectly) said he uses gnome.
    Look at the [Ubuntu] tag in the thread title. That means he uses Ubuntu (i.e gnome).
    The fact that he has problems with gdm (gnome display manager) may also be a clue...

    To the actual problem: Unfortunately I have no clue how to fix it. It's happened to me a few times, but not often enough that I have been able to figure out what caused it.
    Do you use compiz? Try disabling it.
    Which graphics card do you have? Which driver?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    another space
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Edubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: why? I need to restart the gdm

    Thank you so much and sorry I am here so late,
    just like jocko guess , I use the ubuntu 7.10 , the detail show below:
    computer:laptop and ,of course ,networked
    graphics card:NVIDIA 8400 GS
    driver: NVIDIA-Linux-x86-169.12-pkg1.run(I install it)
    gnome display manger
    and the jocko's words recall me it seems that my question appear after I install the compize Fusion Icon.
    And I have tried to disable it ,and just like you see that there is no "solved" in this post, so ........

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: why? I need to restart the gdm

    Quote Originally Posted by DeadInQ View Post
    Badly, just like the title says I have to restart the gdm every time after login ubuntu , or when I switch the desk two or more, desktop just show me the background without panels and I also can't open the menu with the right key of mouse.
    What do you mean by "switch the desk two or more" ?
    1. You have 2 or more desks (furniture) which you keep switching?
    2. Virtual desktop : You change to another virtual desktop , of which there are 4 by default in ubuntu? Might call them workspaces. When desktop on a cube is enabled, you visualize these as sides of a cube.
    3. Ctrl-alt-F1 : You move to 2 or more virtual terminals, maybe Ctrl-alt-F1, Ctrl-alt-F2, and back to Ctrl-alt-F7?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    379

    Re: why? I need to restart the gdm

    I have the same problem

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=790272

    Compiz/awn is enabled and the virtual terminals work but not a lot else does.
    Cya!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Plymouth, MI, USA
    Beans
    74
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: why? I need to restart the gdm

    I have the same problem...It happens when I login.
    I see everything except the window borders which shows the close/minimize buttons and all.
    I am using Compiz with advanced setting and AWN.
    I usually get it to work by doing the following:

    1. Install Compiz Fusion Icon. (One time only)
    2. When you login, you don't see window borders, so go to Applications>System Tools>Compiz Fusion Icon.
    3. This icon appears on your task bar in notification area.
    4. Right click on that icon and select 'Reload Windows Manager'.
    5. That's it. Your windows borders are back.

    But I was wondering why it is happening in the first place. I know how to solve it with above method, but it shouldn't be there at all.
    I am using Dell Inspiron E1505 with NVIDIA using the latest driver from Ubuntu repo.

    Hope someone knows the issue and devs are working on it to fix it.

    Thanks
    Knowliz.com
    Ubuntu user # 20905, Linux User # 467410,
    Dell Inspiron 1505, 2GB RAM, Dual Boot with Vista.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    another space
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Edubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Smile Re: why? I need to restart the gdm

    "switch the desk two or more " ?
    I represent it like this just because of there are four small grey rectangle appear in the right bottom of desktop, and when I transfer cursor on one of them , some words appear (click to switch to "Desk 1 "), of course, if you want ,the number could be replaced with two, three, or four.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    another space
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Edubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Talking Re: why? I need to restart the gdm

    Ok! I just want to say it works well now, I mean it is not still there, and I don't need to restart the gdm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •