Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    25

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    Thats my /etc/network/interfaces

    Woops, forgot to address your other question. No, everything I've tried so far is through clicking the network manager in the system tray and either just clicking the wireless network or clicking manual configuration, disabling roaming mode for my wireless and then typing in everything manually.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Beans
    5,638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    OK.

    Your daemon log clearly shows you being asked for the code and entering it.
    Then it clearly shows the connection attempt failing on a timeout...

    May 9 11:17:13 ubuntu NetworkManager: <info> Activation (wlan0/wireless): association took too long (>120s), failing activation.
    The problem really looks like an issue with your router -- it's not accepting the connection. Could be signal strength too, I suppose. Possibly even a blocked mac address.

    It doesn't look like a misconfiguration on the part of network manager, otherwise, that would be reflected in the log.
    To err is human, to forgive is very ... dog-like.

    Thomas Aaron
    FetchMasters, LLC

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    25

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    Well now it shows something slightly different after messing with the manual config, going back to roaming mode, then disabling/re-enabling networking. It shows the wireless bars instead of the two computer icon for the network manager. Thing is all the network bars are grey, and when you hover over it says "Wireless network connection to 'Frank' (0%)"

    Perhaps it is the router, but we have 4 other computers all with different network cards connecting to the same router. Perhaps its something with the intel network driver? I really don't know at this point. My next troubleshooting step was going to be to bring it over to someone else's house and try it out there, but do you have any other ideas?

    Thanks so far for the responses.

    Also as a side note, I've now moved up to the office where the router is so its not network strength and I triple checked the MAC address.
    Last edited by Beridel; May 9th, 2008 at 09:55 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Beans
    5,638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    I don't think it is the drive. This driver is being used everywhere with every imaginable router.

    Your options seem to be:

    *Signal Strength (how strong is your signal when you view it by clicking onthe networking icon?)

    *Non-Exact configuration of network manager to the router. It literally has to be exact. Please describe your configuration on both the router and network manager.

    *A setting in your router that is thwarting your connection. I'd try it out at a friends house, or a free wifi coffee house.
    To err is human, to forgive is very ... dog-like.

    Thomas Aaron
    FetchMasters, LLC

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    25

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    So I took it over to a friend's house that has a pretty standard wireless setup, and I had the same problem there as I do at home. So I'm thinking its not my router but something with either hardware or software.

    Also I've done a little google researching and it seems other people we're having this same issue with the intel 4965 in hardy alpha/beta but that a lot of them have resolved it. I've tried a few things to no avail, like trying it with wicd instead of network manager, but no luck so far. Would trying out a 3945 intel wireless card make a difference? Don't know what else to try now.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    OHIO
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    This is TomL and I agree your problem sounds the same as mine! The only new wrinkle to my problem is that I can connect to an unsecured neighbor's network. Thomas thought that I needed to use WEP but that did not help. I am still broken but when I need connection I either use the neighbor's or I use cat5!
    I am just lying in wait! :>

    Thanks.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    418
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    Quote Originally Posted by TomLawell View Post
    This is TomL and I agree your problem sounds the same as mine! The only new wrinkle to my problem is that I can connect to an unsecured neighbor's network. Thomas thought that I needed to use WEP but that did not help. I am still broken but when I need connection I either use the neighbor's or I use cat5!
    I am just lying in wait! :>

    Thanks.
    If it smells like a duck, quacks like a duck - it's a duck. Despite everyone having MAC filtering disabled to the best of their knowledge, I am willing to bet that it is worth heading to a big box store for a little experiment. Before you do, double check that you have the latest router firmware.

    If it is still failing, pick up a new 802.11g (no pre N routers if possible) router and hold onto the receipt. Set it up, test it with zero security settings. Success? Then the router(s) in question are not handing off things for some reason.

    Even if it works with XP, I have seen this happen with Linksys many times with specific Linux distros - no idea why. I know, this makes zero sense, but trust me, you might be shocked at the results.

    Basically, "borrow" a router for testing that is new, not used and can potentially save you hours of wasted time.

    I have been troubleshooting Linux wireless for years, this is why I always have an alternative for testing. If it fails, take it back for a full refund. This is my best, least time wasted suggestion from troubleshooting similar experiences of MAC address filtering gone wrong.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    418
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    If testing with the new router still fails, try this as a last ditch effort:

    (Borrowed from here)

    Which HAL are you rockin' with?

    apt-cache madison hal
    You should be gazing at something like:

    hal (0.5.11~rc2-1ubuntu2) hardy; urgency=low
    * debian/rules: build using --with-deprecated-keys, since we don't want to
    break packages that were assuming this worked right up through beta.
    LP: #204768.
    If not, run those updates.

    Yes you do have that version of HAL, but still no love? Try this:

    Download and save this to disk: http://launchpadlibrarian.net/124982...untu1_i386.deb Then double-click it to install. It will likely complain about being older, but I believe will install nonetheless. If you rather, uninstall the existing NM first.

    sudo aptitude remove network-manager
    That will take care of the back and front ends for you.

    Got it working, great. Now let's prevent Ubuntu from "fixing" your network-manager ever again:

    sudo aptitude hold network-manager
    You can also check the NM version with:

    apt-cache madison network-manager
    Last edited by ctsdownloads; May 11th, 2008 at 08:22 PM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    25

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    Thanks for the response cts.

    I don't think I'll be able to get out today to go pick up a router to test that, but if I'm following what you are saying, its that someone could turn on the MAC address filtering on a router, then later turn it off but the router doesn't really turn it off? So thats why I'd need to try a brand new one that hasn't been messed with at all? And then if I find that the new router works, that means I have to switch routers? And not use MAC filtering anymore?

    Since I won't be able to try that today, I looked at the second solution you posted and I got very different results for apt-cache madison hal:

    beridel@ubuntu:~$ apt-cache madison hal
    hal | 0.5.11~rc2-1ubuntu8 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy-updates/main Packages
    hal | 0.5.11~rc2-1ubuntu7 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy/main Packages
    hal | 0.5.11~rc2-1ubuntu7 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy/main Sources
    hal | 0.5.11~rc2-1ubuntu8 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy-updates/main Sources

    It looks like the same version number with a bunch of repository urls or something, but without any of the other lines that your output had. And it says I'm all up to date at this point (using a cat5 connection).

    As for downgrading to a previous NM, I'm on the amd64 build so that package won't work for me and the 6.6.0 package for the 64 bit build looks to be the current one and the one I have installed now:

    beridel@ubuntu:~$ apt-cache madison network-manager
    network-manager | 0.6.6-0ubuntu5 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy/main Packages
    network-manager | 0.6.6-0ubuntu5 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy/main Sources

    So I'm not sure what to do in regards to the second option.

    Thanks again for the response.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    418
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: New Gazelle and Wireless Troubles

    Quote Originally Posted by Beridel View Post
    Thanks for the response cts.

    I don't think I'll be able to get out today to go pick up a router to test that, but if I'm following what you are saying, its that someone could turn on the MAC address filtering on a router, then later turn it off but the router doesn't really turn it off? So thats why I'd need to try a brand new one that hasn't been messed with at all? And then if I find that the new router works, that means I have to switch routers? And not use MAC filtering anymore?

    Since I won't be able to try that today, I looked at the second solution you posted and I got very different results for apt-cache madison hal:

    beridel@ubuntu:~$ apt-cache madison hal
    hal | 0.5.11~rc2-1ubuntu8 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy-updates/main Packages
    hal | 0.5.11~rc2-1ubuntu7 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy/main Packages
    hal | 0.5.11~rc2-1ubuntu7 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy/main Sources
    hal | 0.5.11~rc2-1ubuntu8 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy-updates/main Sources

    It looks like the same version number with a bunch of repository urls or something, but without any of the other lines that your output had. And it says I'm all up to date at this point (using a cat5 connection).

    As for downgrading to a previous NM, I'm on the amd64 build so that package won't work for me and the 6.6.0 package for the 64 bit build looks to be the current one and the one I have installed now:

    beridel@ubuntu:~$ apt-cache madison network-manager
    network-manager | 0.6.6-0ubuntu5 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy/main Packages
    network-manager | 0.6.6-0ubuntu5 | http://us.archive.ubuntu.com hardy/main Sources

    So I'm not sure what to do in regards to the second option.

    Thanks again for the response.

    As for the router thing, that is basically it. Rare, but I have seen MAC filtering fail to disable for whatever reason.

    Sorry, wrong package:
    http://launchpadlibrarian.net/124983...ntu1_amd64.deb

    So you will want to uninstall the existing 0.6.6-0ubuntu5 and then will be replacing it with the above linked 0.6.6-0ubuntu1 (AMD 64). After changing versions from ubuntu5 back to ubuntu1, do not forget to:

    sudo aptitude hold network-manager
    If this fails, I would go back to my point on changing out the router. And if that still fails, might be interesting to toss Wicd into the mix, understanding that I have not had a lot of success with it recently. It is architecture neutral.
    http://wicd.sourceforge.net/screenshot.php

    General settings for Wicd include using WEXT for WPA, WPA encryption set to WPA 1/2 in the app itself for WPA 2 Personal on the router.
    Last edited by ctsdownloads; May 11th, 2008 at 10:37 PM.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •