Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Broadcom Chipset Help!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    44

    Question Broadcom Chipset Help!

    anyone know how to install firmware for Broadcom 4312 chipset on 64bit? I have tried advice on previous posts, ndiswrapper and fwcutter, but no luck. Machine is HP Pavillion dv6522em(6500 series). Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Beans
    4,312
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Broadcom Chipset Help!

    You might want to check your lspci -nn (from the Terminal). If you have a rev 02, the firmware on Hardy is currently not working well. Most of those users have been using NDISwrapper.

    Here is a link that you can try if it is not a rev 02:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=779754

    If you are not sure, feel free to post the results of your lspci -nn.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    44

    Post Re: Broadcom Chipset Help!

    Thanks. Unfortunateley its rev02.....

    03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11a/b/g [14e4:4312] (rev 02)

    I have installed the driver with ndiswrapper, which shows in the "Wireless Network Drivers" GUI as running with hardware present, however in Terminal, command ifconfig wlan0 returns, device not found. I don't want to bin Ubuntu but I need Wireless.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Beans
    4,312
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Broadcom Chipset Help!

    Can you post the results to the following:
    Code:
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist|grep -i -e b43 -e bcm43xx -e ssb -e ndiswrapper
    cat /etc/modules|grep -i -e b43 -e bcm43xx -e ssb -e ndiswrapper
    lspci -nn|grep 14e4:44
    We need to make sure that bcm43xx and b43 drivers are blacklisted (the first command). We also need to make sure that the proper modules are being loaded and sometimes ndiswrapper needs to be loaded at boot (command two checks this). We also need to check and see if you need ssb for your wired connection (command three). The b44 driver is the Broadcom wired driver and it needs ssb (a driver that needs to be loaded after ndiswrapper).

    I am assuming that you have a wired connection. If it is too much to post, I will try to help clarify what you need to have in each.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    44

    Post Re: Broadcom Chipset Help!

    Thanks, results as follows.....

    # replaced by b43 and ssb
    blacklist bcm43xx

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    44

    Re: Broadcom Chipset Help!

    the second two commands returned nothing. I have a wired connnection as you say, and there appears tto be some sort of bridge ireless to the wired ifthat makes sense?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Beans
    4,312
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Broadcom Chipset Help!

    Can you also check:
    Code:
    lsmod |grep ssb
    If it only shows ssb and b43, you can do the next steps.

    To see if ndiswrapper will work, try the following:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb
    sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
    If it works, you will need to add following:
    Code:
    echo blacklist ssb | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
    echo ndiswrapper |sudo tee -a /etc/modules
    These commands will prevent the b43 module from loading (first command) and add ndiswrapper to /etc/modules so that it will load the next time you boot.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    44

    Re: Broadcom Chipset Help!

    The first two commqnds return the following:

    1. ssb 37252 1 b44

    2. FATAL: Module ssb is in use.

    Perhaps I need a fresh install (again!)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Beans
    4,312
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Broadcom Chipset Help!

    Quote Originally Posted by crazy dave View Post
    The first two commqnds return the following:

    1. ssb 37252 1 b44

    2. FATAL: Module ssb is in use.

    Perhaps I need a fresh install (again!)
    No! It is saying that your wired connection is a Broadcom. It also means that my previous set of commands need to be modified. Just to be sure that you do have a Broadcom wired card, can you post your lspci -nn information?

    What we can do for now is test and see if your wireless works:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe -r b43 b44 ssb
    sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
    sudo modprobe b44
    This will temporarily disconnect your wired connection, but should reconnect it again. Worst case if you lose your connection is that you can reboot and nothing is lost.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    44

    Re: Broadcom Chipset Help!

    The ethernet device is nvidia, here is th ehqrdware profile:


    00:00.0 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 Memory Controller [10de:0444] (rev a3)
    00:01.0 ISA bridge [0601]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 LPC Bridge [10de:0442] (rev a3)
    00:01.1 SMBus [0c05]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 SMBus [10de:0446] (rev a1)
    00:01.3 Co-processor [0b40]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 SMU [10de:0447] (rev a1)
    00:02.0 USB Controller [0c03]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 USB Controller [10de:0454] (rev a3)
    00:02.1 USB Controller [0c03]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 USB Controller [10de:0455] (rev a3)
    00:06.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 Ethernet [10de:0450] (rev a3)
    00:07.0 Audio device [0403]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 High Definition Audio [10de:044a] (rev a1)
    00:08.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 PCI bridge [10de:0449] (rev a1)
    00:09.0 IDE interface [0101]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 IDE [10de:0448] (rev a1)
    00:0a.0 IDE interface [0101]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 SATA Controller [10de:045d] (rev a3)
    00:0b.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation Unknown device [10de:045b] (rev a1)
    00:0c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 PCI Express bridge [10de:045a] (rev a1)
    00:0d.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 PCI Express bridge [10de:0458] (rev a1)
    00:0e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP65 PCI Express bridge [10de:0459] (rev a1)
    00:18.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration [1022:1100]
    00:18.1 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map [1022:1101]
    00:18.2 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller [1022:1102]
    00:18.3 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control [1022:1103]
    03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11a/b/g [14e4:4312] (rev 02)
    05:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8400M GS [10de:0427] (rev a1)
    07:05.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller [1180:0832] (rev 05)
    07:05.1 SD Host controller [0805]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter [1180:0822] (rev 22)
    07:05.2 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller [1180:0843] (rev 12)
    07:05.3 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter [1180:0592] (rev 12)
    07:05.4 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller [1180:0852] (rev ff)


    The three commands returned nothing, no apparent response?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •