Thread: [SOLVED] NVidia troubles

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

[SOLVED] NVidia troubles

Ok, so I've been having troubles with my nvidia drivers ever since the Hardy beta, I figured that the issue would be fixed by release, however, I cant seem to get it to work. First of I'm running a Dell Latitude d830, with an Nvidia Quadro NVS 140M. Now, I've been googling and searching the forums since Hardy's release and I've found posts people make saying they had problems with nvidia drivers, but got them to work by using envyng. Thats about as detailed as I can find. I've tried using envyng, and the hardware drivers from hardy's menu, and Synaptic package manager but no matter what I do when i reboot, I get a what screen with some colored lines. Now I know that ubuntu is running cuz I can hear the start up sounds. So I figure it must be something wrong with my xorg.conf file. I'm really hoping that someone can help walk me through this. I'm not a complete newb, but I'm no expert either. Please help, I love ubuntu but this is really starting to get frustrating. I thank you for any assistance.
    Last edited by DoubleDee; August 12th, 2008 at 08:23 PM. Reason: issue resolved

Beans
    Distro

Re: NVidia troubles

this is really starting to get annoying, like to the point where windows is looking like a better made OS than ubuntu.

Beans
    Hidden!

You do what? Are you crazy!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Install envy, use it to remove your drivers and then re-install them.

Beans
    Hidden!

Not always BTW I used Envyng and it did not work which is why I placed the link

Beans
    Distro