Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: My Zen no longer automounts

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Beans
    237
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Angry My mtp device no longer mounts

    I have a Creative Zen V plus 2Gb.

    When I first installed Hardy it would auto mount and show up as a drive on my desktop.

    This was great! I no longer had to use gNomad which never worked right and, my wife ( it's really hers ) could use it just like any storage medium like she it expects it to be.

    But now and for some time now I can't even get it to be recognized by most programs.

    Yes, Rythombox will transfer songs to it but not playlists nor video or any thing else for that matter.

    So, my question is how do I enable the auto mounting and usage of Nautilus with my Zen like before?

    I know I am not the only one who wants to know.
    Last edited by 16777216; May 7th, 2008 at 11:45 PM. Reason: My question covers a wider range of devices than just the Zen and a lot of people have the same problem.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Hawaii
    Beans
    174
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: My Zen no longer automounts

    It's pretty ironic because I just posted a similar question to yours 1 min ago. I was able to see the zen on my desktop and now I can't. Please let me know if you get anywhere on this subject.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Beans
    237
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Unhappy Re: My Zen no longer automounts

    Unfortunalty I am starting to think this issue can not be solved by the community so I am going to file a bug report as well.

    But I would still appricate any help here.

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Québec, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Gutsy Gibbon Testing

    Re: My Zen no longer automounts

    Is your user a member of the "fuse" group? To find out, System -> Administration -> Users and Groups. Select your users and add it to the "fuse" group if it is not already done. Maybe that will help solve the problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Beans
    237
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Talking Re: My Zen no longer automounts

    Yes I am but thank you for the suggestion.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Beans
    237
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: My Zen no longer automounts

    No one knows what this issue is?

    The beta version live CD still automounts it, so I know it is not the zen.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: My Zen no longer automounts

    I'm suffering the same problem with my zen and automount too. I'm using Hardy.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Beans
    237
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: My Zen no longer automounts

    I don't think anyone knows how to fix this, I have lost hope that this will get fixed.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •