Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Central Coast, California
    Beans
    1,789

    Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

    I know that the forums are full of this, but I haven't been able to find anything to get me to a complete solution yet. Standard "upgraded to Hardy, now nvidia driver doesn't let me boot into X" problem.

    When running nvidia-xconfig or in any way enabling the nvidia driver, X would not start. After removing the nvidia-glx-new package and installing from the file from nvidia's site, I can run startx just fine and everything's dandy. Problem is, it no longer works when I reboot, and I have to reinstall the driver. I've tried stopping kdm first and relinking the gcc, g++ and cpp symlinks to the 4.1 versions (instead of 4.2), since the installer warned me about using a different version than my kernal was compiled with. Neither of those has worked. I've also tried installing nvidia-glx immediately afterwards, to no avail.

    EDIT: BTW, envy doesn't work either.

    EDIT2: Someone on IRC told me to add nvidia to my /etc/modules list, but that also failed to produce the desired effect.
    Last edited by Xiong Chiamiov; May 7th, 2008 at 08:42 AM.
    I do not use Ubuntu any more, nor have I ever used Gnome. Therefore, I tend to give advice that is distro- and DE-agnostic, which, while perhaps not the easiest way, will allow you to move freely between machines.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Central Coast, California
    Beans
    1,789

    Re: Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

    bump
    I do not use Ubuntu any more, nor have I ever used Gnome. Therefore, I tend to give advice that is distro- and DE-agnostic, which, while perhaps not the easiest way, will allow you to move freely between machines.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

    You do what? Are you crazy!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Central Coast, California
    Beans
    1,789

    Re: Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

    Thank you. However, you'll notice by reading my post that, aside from deleting the restricted modules directly (which did not help, btw), those were the steps I had already taken. Of course, since I'm using Kubuntu, I stopped kdm, rather than gdm, but that is an insignificant detail.
    I do not use Ubuntu any more, nor have I ever used Gnome. Therefore, I tend to give advice that is distro- and DE-agnostic, which, while perhaps not the easiest way, will allow you to move freely between machines.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Central Coast, California
    Beans
    1,789

    Re: Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

    bump.

    Thinking about filing something on launchpad.
    I do not use Ubuntu any more, nor have I ever used Gnome. Therefore, I tend to give advice that is distro- and DE-agnostic, which, while perhaps not the easiest way, will allow you to move freely between machines.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Central Coast, California
    Beans
    1,789

    Re: Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

    one last bump.
    I do not use Ubuntu any more, nor have I ever used Gnome. Therefore, I tend to give advice that is distro- and DE-agnostic, which, while perhaps not the easiest way, will allow you to move freely between machines.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cleveland
    Beans
    30
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

    X-

    Same problem here. Got it working thru restarting X - but system still asks me to restart and poof! away goes my logo, res, and rotation.

    Certainly count me in for any resolutions.

    BTW, I am using amd64 ver.

    Take care,
    X

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    451

    Re: Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

    Same here on 32-bit.

    Whats going on????

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Central Coast, California
    Beans
    1,789

    Re: Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

    Well, at least I know it's not just me. I'll broaden my searches to see what I can dig up.
    I do not use Ubuntu any more, nor have I ever used Gnome. Therefore, I tend to give advice that is distro- and DE-agnostic, which, while perhaps not the easiest way, will allow you to move freely between machines.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    451

    Re: Hardy+nvidia - not working through reboot

    Quote Originally Posted by Xiong Chiamiov View Post
    Well, at least I know it's not just me. I'll broaden my searches to see what I can dig up.
    I was originally getting the same problems as you, but now I'm not sure what my problem is, although I did get a new monitor 2 days ago with a 1920x1200 resolution instead of 1600x1200. The new monitor wasn't properly recognised by Ubuntu, and it was whilst I was "fiddling" to try and get the resolution and refresh rate etc configured correctly that I "broke" my system. Right now, I only have 800x600 resolution... I have a hunch its something to do with kernel modules but I've checked and compared this installation with another identical Hardy installation on another box, and according to Synaptic I have all the same packages installed. The "Hardware Drivers - Configure 3rd party and proprietary hardware drivers" utility tells me that my Nvidia driver is now installed and in use, but I still can't find any screen resolution settings bigger than 800x600. I've also tried copying my xorg.conf from the correctly-working box to this one, but still no joy...
    Last edited by itsjustarumour; May 12th, 2008 at 09:27 AM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •