Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 83

Thread: HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy with Atheros 5418

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    38

    HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy with Atheros 5418

    Hi Everyone,

    I wanted to post what worked for me to get my Lenovo Thinkpad T60 working with WPA/WPA2 wireless and Hardy. This information seems to be scattered all over the place so I thought I would compile it into a howto guide. I will walk you through downloading and configuring the lastest Madwifi trunk, and WICD. I used the r3616 of the Madwifi svn. I'm not sure if a newer svn will work. I prefer the WICD interface to Network Managers. YMMV if tried with Network Manager. I also haven't tried this in KDE. If there is anyone that wants to contribute to this or has a better way of doing this please give us your 2 cents. Here are the steps:

    Install prerequisites to download and build Madwifi

    1) Install kernel headers, subversion and build-essential. Open you favorite terminal program and enter the following code:

    Code:
    sudo aptitude install linux-headers-`uname -r` subversion build-essential
    Download and install latest Madwifi svn.

    2) Make directory to download latest svn into and download svn.

    Code:
    mkdir madwifi 
    cd madwifi
    svn checkout http://svn.madwifi.org/madwifi/trunk #This will take a while.
    3)Remove Madwifi drivers installed by Hardy

    Code:
    sudo ifconfig ath0 down
    sudo ifconfig wifi0 down
    #Repeat these 2 ifconfig lines for every MadWifi device you have
    cd trunk/scripts
    sudo ./madwifi-unload
    sudo sh ./find-madwifi-modules.sh $(uname -r)
    cd ..
    4) Install Madwifi

    Code:
    make
    sudo make install
    5) Load Madwifi module and set module to start at boot

    Code:
    sudo modprobe ath_pci
    sudo gedit /etc/modules
    *the modules file only supports one device per line*
    Enter ath_pci on the last line of the file and save.

    6) Add WICD repository to Software Sources.

    Go to System -> Administration -> Software Sources
    Click on "Third-party Software" tab
    Click add.
    Add this for the "APT line" - deb http://apt.wicd.net hardy extras
    Click "Add Source"
    Click "Close"
    Click "Reload" #Be sure to reload or the next step will not work

    7) Install WICD. #This will remove Network Manager.

    Code:
    sudo aptitude install wicd
    8) Load WICD gui at login

    Go to System -> Preferences -> Sessions
    Under the "Startup Programs" tab click "Add"
    Under name type "WICD" #without quotes
    Under command type "/opt/wicd/tray.py" #without quotes
    Click ok
    Load WICD without restarting ATL-F2 put this in the box /opt/wicd/tray.py and click run.

    9) Let's see if your new install is working
    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep Network
    you should get this 03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5418 802.11abgn Wireless PCI Express Adapter [168c:0024] (rev 01) 
    
    sudo lshw -C network | grep driver | sed 's/ /\n/g' | grep driver=
    you should get this 
    driver=e1000
    driver=ath_pci
    
    sudo lsmod | grep ath_pci
    you should get this 
    ath_pci               241856  0 
    wlan                  255008  5 wlan_tkip,wlan_scan_sta,ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
    ath_hal               281216  3 ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
    10) Connect to WPA/WPA2 access point

    Code:
    sudo gedit /opt/wicd/encryption/templates/wpa
    Change this line psk=$_PSK to this line psk=$_KEY
    Go into the WICD Manager click on preferences and make sure that wext is the "WPA Supplicant Driver" and that ath0 is your "Wireless Interface".
    Check "Automatically Reconnect on Connection Loss"
    Click OK.
    Now click "Refresh" at the top and you should see your AP's name and all of the other APs close to your location. If your AP has a hidden SSID you will need to add the AP's name to WICD. Just Click on the down arrow at the top of the WICD Manager next to "Network" and choose "Hidden Network" and follow the next directions. You will need to add the PSK and any other settings necessary to connect to your particular AP. Just click on the name of your AP and then Advanced and you can put all your settings in.

    You should be set to go now. ENJOY!!!!

    Jerick70
    Last edited by jerick70; June 15th, 2008 at 08:22 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Malta Europe
    Beans
    117
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy with Atheros 5418

    What do I need to change if I need to connect to my wireless router Edimax (WirelessG Braodband Router) ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Malta Europe
    Beans
    117
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy with Atheros 5418

    What do I need to change (in the above instructions) to connect to a wireless router edimax ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    38

    Re: HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy with Atheros 5418

    Quote Originally Posted by danbar View Post
    What do I need to change (in the above instructions) to connect to a wireless router edimax ?
    Hi danbar,

    I don't have experience with Edimax routers. I would be happy to help though. I need a little more info from you though. Are you receiving any errors while preforming the steps in the guide? What model Edimax router do you have? How is the router setup? What wireless card are you using?

    Jerick70
    Last edited by jerick70; May 8th, 2008 at 08:19 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Malta Europe
    Beans
    117
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy with Atheros 5418

    Thanks Jerick for answering. I'm not receiving any errors. It's reacting as if the router does not exist.

    I went inside the settings of the router but couldn't get find information as to what model it is. Maybe I missed something?

    Secondly how would I know (through hardy) what network card do I have?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    38

    Re: HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy with Atheros 5418

    Quote Originally Posted by danbar View Post
    Thanks Jerick for answering. I'm not receiving any errors. It's reacting as if the router does not exist.

    I went inside the settings of the router but couldn't get find information as to what model it is. Maybe I missed something?

    Secondly how would I know (through hardy) what network card do I have?
    You can probably look on the bottom of your router to find the model number.

    I don't think you can see which card you have in Linux. What output did you get with this code?

    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep Network
    sudo lshw -C network | grep driver | sed 's/ /\n/g' | grep driver=
    sudo lsmod | grep ath_pci
    Jerick70
    Last edited by jerick70; May 11th, 2008 at 07:16 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Malta Europe
    Beans
    117
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy

    thanks for your time!

    The number written underneath the router is: 6114WG 4CE1000011

    In the terminal the message that I found was: driver=b43-pci-bridge
    driver=tg3

    As I was looking for the b43cutter-011 in my harddisk I found it next to Documents, music, pictures etc....Maybe it's in the wrong place? Maybe I need to change the path?

    Thanks again.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    38

    Re: HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy

    Quote Originally Posted by danbar View Post
    thanks for your time!

    The number written underneath the router is: 6114WG 4CE1000011

    In the terminal the message that I found was: driver=b43-pci-bridge
    driver=tg3

    As I was looking for the b43cutter-011 in my harddisk I found it next to Documents, music, pictures etc....Maybe it's in the wrong place? Maybe I need to change the path?

    Thanks again.

    Hi danbar,

    Your welcome. You have a Broadcom 4318 wireless chipset. The drivers in this guide will not work with your wireless chipset. They are for Atheros wireless based cards. Here is a thread that will help: Broadcom BCM4318 The rest of the thread with the WICD install instructions should work. Good luck in getting your wireless to work.

    Jerick70

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy with Atheros 5418

    Hmm...I have a 5418 in a T60. I followed your instructions and everything seemed to go OK except 1) the ...grep driver= gives me both e1000 and ath_pci;
    2) ifconfig shows both ath0 and wifi0. wifi0 shows traffic but ath0 does not;
    3) I can connect, but wicd reports "connected at 15%" when the signal is very strong; and
    4) I can't ping my router.
    The card works properly with windows.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    38

    Re: HOWTO: Get wireless working in Hardy with Atheros 5418

    Quote Originally Posted by speed01 View Post
    Hmm...I have a 5418 in a T60. I followed your instructions and everything seemed to go OK except 1) the ...grep driver= gives me both e1000 and ath_pci;
    2) ifconfig shows both ath0 and wifi0. wifi0 shows traffic but ath0 does not;
    3) I can connect, but wicd reports "connected at 15%" when the signal is very strong; and
    4) I can't ping my router.
    The card works properly with windows.
    Hi speed01,

    I am sorry to hear that you are having issues. I have changed the guide to include the report of the e1000 driver when running the grep driver= command. Just to let you know the e1000 driver is the wrong driver for the T60 Intel NIC. You can find how to install the correct drivers here: http://whocares.de/2008/04/20/make-i...4-hardy-heron/

    A couple of questions. What wireless router do you have? What version of the Madwifi drivers are you using? Can you get to the internet when connected to your wireless router(I am guessing you can't)?

    Jeff

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •