Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Screen Brightness

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    1,675
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Screen Brightness

    Try

    xbacklight -set 50

    to change it to 50%.
    100 buckets of bits on the bus,
    100 buckets of bits,
    Take one down, short it to ground,
    FF buckets of bits on the bus.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: Screen Brightness

    this did not change anything but thx anyway

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    1,675
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Screen Brightness

    Hmm, that app was designed for intel chipsets. I'd play around with it.
    100 buckets of bits on the bus,
    100 buckets of bits,
    Take one down, short it to ground,
    FF buckets of bits on the bus.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: Screen Brightness

    like what should i try

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Screen Brightness

    the command you're looking for is:

    Code:
    # echo -n 50 > /proc/acpi/video/VGA/LCD/brightness
    replace 50 with a number between 37 and 100

    usually I use 37,50 or 100

    NOTE: you MUST be root to use this command, sudo will NOT work so:

    Code:
    $ sudo -s
    # echo -n 50 > /proc/acpi/video/VGA/LCD/brightness
    # exit
    $
    this was stolen from:

    http://www.ubuntu1501.com/2007/12/ba...tness-fix.html

    I use this command regularly on my laptop... When you forget it (which I always do) you can find it easily using:

    Code:
    $ history | grep brightness
    I would really like to be able to use my fn brightness keys on the keyboard, and they work in other distributions so I think its a kernel problem... I would like to hack it, but unfortunately my skills are not quite there yet...
    Last edited by Catalyst2Death; May 8th, 2008 at 02:10 AM. Reason: spelling/grammer

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: Screen Brightness

    that worked great thx for the help

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    3,052

    Re: Screen Brightness

    My /proc directory architecture seems different.
    Code:
    zorael@sunspire:~$ ls /proc/acpi/video
    GFX0
    No VGA directory. :<
    ...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Screen Brightness

    thats odd... whats in the GFX0 folder? I'm assuming its a folder...

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    3,052

    Re: Screen Brightness

    Code:
    zorael@sunspire:/proc/acpi/video/GFX0$ ls -l
    total 0
    dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root 0 2008-05-08 19:28 DD01
    dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root 0 2008-05-08 19:28 DD02
    dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root 0 2008-05-08 19:28 DD03
    dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root 0 2008-05-08 19:28 DD04
    dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root 0 2008-05-08 19:28 DD05
    -r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 2008-05-08 19:28 DOS
    -r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 2008-05-08 19:28 info
    -r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 2008-05-08 19:28 POST
    -r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 2008-05-08 19:28 POST_info
    -r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 2008-05-08 19:28 ROM
    zorael@sunspire:/proc/acpi/video/GFX0$ cd DD01
    zorael@sunspire:/proc/acpi/video/GFX0/DD01$ ls
    brightness  EDID  info  state
    zorael@sunspire:/proc/acpi/video/GFX0/DD01$ cat brightness
    <not supported>
    I tried cat brightness on all DD0* folders, and system locked up when doing it on DD05's, heh. All said <not supported>.
    ...

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Screen Brightness

    thats odd, I'm not sure... I would try the command anyway and see if you can't get a response, but only if your feeling gutsy... I mean I don't want to suggest that you break it, but I would try the command anyway.

    Maybe someone better versed in the acpi setup could help here?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •