Thread: Toshiba Satellite A205-S5841

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Smile Toshiba Satellite A205-S5841

Hi All,

I'm an Ubuntu newbie but have managed installing Ubuntu 8 (Hardy) on my AMD64 Desktop PC by reading these forums. They're very helpful by the way.

I just want to find out if any of you have experienced installing Ubuntu on a Toshiba Satellite A205-S5841 or any Toshiba Satellite for that matter? Were there any hardware problems after installing? Did everything work? touchpad, WiFi, Audio, Video etc.?

I have a laptop (Toshiba Satellite A205-S5841) coming soon with Vista installed on in and I want to replace it with Ubuntu.

Hoping for your advice.

Thanks in advance. Much appreciated!

Chocobo333

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Re: Toshiba Satellite A205-S5841

I've got a Satellite A100-003 and everything worked flawlessly from the first moment, except the bluetooth.
    I don't know what's same and what's different in our hardware configuration, but judging from my experience you'll love Ubuntu!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Quote Originally Posted by Tryfon View Post
    I've got a Satellite A100-003 and everything worked flawlessly from the first moment, except the bluetooth.
    I don't know what's same and what's different in our hardware configuration, but judging from my experience you'll love Ubuntu!
    Wow! Great! Sounds promising then. You're right. I loved Ubuntu the first time it demoed on my desktop. Astounded that everything ran right from the CD and installed perfectly! Can't wait to install Ubuntu on my laptop. It'll be delivered on Monday. Did you get your bluetooth to work properly though? Searching for a repo for drivers if available. Anyway. Thanks! Cheers!

Beans