Page 2 of 35 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 346

Thread: How to VMWare Server 1.0.6 and 2.0 RC1 in Ubuntu 8.04

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,434
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04

    Quote Originally Posted by bodhi.zazen View Post
    LOL, are you encouraging me to turn this into one of my "How-longs".

    I added some basic information, I just do not recall the menus for adding usb devices (will add that later).

    Other suggestions welcome.

    I'm not sure that the fixes, i.e., uncommenting four lines (#42 to #45) in the /etc/init.d/mountdevsubfs.sh file, is needed in the released 8.04. I ran a USB flash drive on a clean install and it loaded. Can't say if that would happen in vmware client or not... I don't have any systems I can test with at present.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 4.0GHz, SSDs, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,434
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04

    Quote Originally Posted by Kokopelli View Post
    Are you talking to me? If so my advice is to not run the sed commands unless you are getting the pixmap errors after completing all other steps. Even then I would strongly advise checking the loader first.

    if
    Code:
    cat /usr/lib32/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/loader-files.d/libgtk2.0-0.loaders |grep lib32
    comes back with any hits then running the sed commands will almost definitely break your loader.
    Yes. Thanks. Maybe Bodhi.zazen can add your comment to his original post, to keep everything together.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 4.0GHz, SSDs, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04

    Quote Originally Posted by fjgaude View Post
    I'm not sure that the fixes, i.e., uncommenting four lines (#42 to #45) in the /etc/init.d/mountdevsubfs.sh file, is needed in the released 8.04. I ran a USB flash drive on a clean install and it loaded. Can't say if that would happen in vmware client or not... I don't have any systems I can test with at present.
    I enable USB devices in a different way.

    Add these lines to /etc/fstab :

    Code:
    # USB for vmware/vbox
    none /proc/bus/usb usbfs devgid=46,devmode=664 0 0
    You need to re-boot for the changes to take effect, at least I could not get the changes to stick w/ simply mount -o remount ...
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04

    Quote Originally Posted by Kokopelli View Post
    Also if I may make a suggestion. Users should install the linux-headers metapackage for their running kernel. (Generally "linux-headers-general" for Desktop and "linux-headers-server" for a server install.) This way if/when the kernel gets updated the headers are updated automatically as well. It eliminates the confusion when they try and rebuild and the headers are not available.
    This is good advice. On my system
    Code:
    apt-get install linux-headers-`uname -r`
    installed 'linux-headers-generic" and "linux-headers-server" automagically.
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04

    Quote Originally Posted by fjgaude View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Kokopelli View Post
    Are you talking to me? If so my advice is to not run the sed commands unless you are getting the pixmap errors after completing all other steps. Even then I would strongly advise checking the loader first.

    if
    Code:
    cat /usr/lib32/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/loader-files.d/libgtk2.0-0.loaders |grep lib32
    comes back with any hits then running the sed commands will almost definitely break your loader.
    Yes. Thanks. Maybe Bodhi.zazen can add your comment to his original post, to keep everything together.
    If someone can confirm the sed commands for me I will change my first post (I do not have the hardware).

    Also, with sed commands, I advise you consider a delineation other then /, for example :

    sed -i -e 's_old_new_g' file

    @Kokopelli : You were asking me earlier re: my sources of information. To be honest I have been running VMWare for some time, and learned about vmware-any-any-update from the Fedora forums some time ago. I have seen many requests for how to install VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04, but did not see a complete start-to-finish guide anywhere.

    I found the cp commands here :

    http://fiddlerelf.com/2008/04/27/how...on-ubuntu-804/

    And there was a second site, it was a blog, and to be honest I can not find it now (spent 15 minutes pooring through google searches).
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    106
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How to VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04

    I was not asking for where you got the information, just pointing out there were at least two threads that already gave it. The important part is that we have a sticky now though, the rest does not matter.

    I used the picket fence style in sed because that was what the original command used:

    Code:
    sudo ln -s /usr/lib32 /usr/l32
    sudo sed -i -e 's:usr/lib/:usr/l32/:g' /usr/lib32/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/loader-files.d/libgtk2.0-0.loaders
    sudo sed -i -e 's:usr/lib/:usr/l32/:g' /usr/lib32/libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0.1200.9
    Will do the same thing. If you do a search for "l3232" on the virtualization forum you will see a number of hits where the original command was used on a loader already pointing to lib32. It is more important that the command not be used unless needed than the particulars of the syntax. I am just trying to mitigate the risk with a command that should not actively break the loader should it be run when not needed.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04

    Quote Originally Posted by Kokopelli View Post
    I was not asking for where you got the information, just pointing out there were at least two threads that already gave it. The important part is that we have a sticky now though, the rest does not matter.

    I used the picket fence style in sed because that was what the original command used:

    Code:
    sudo ln -s /usr/lib32 /usr/l32
    sudo sed -i -e 's:usr/lib/:usr/l32/:g' /usr/lib32/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/loader-files.d/libgtk2.0-0.loaders
    sudo sed -i -e 's:usr/lib/:usr/l32/:g' /usr/lib32/libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0.1200.9
    Thank you Kokopelli, I will make the changes.

    If you see a thread that merits a sticky, please report it (as you would "spam") or PM me. This way the mods can look into it.

    On that note, I think I am going to take the current stickies in this forum and make a "mega sticky" with useful links ...
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Topeka, Kansas
    Beans
    2,317
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: How to VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04

    Quote Originally Posted by bodhi.zazen View Post

    Now run vmware-any-any-update-116
    Code:
    cd  ~/src/VMWare/vmware-any-any-update116
    sudo ./runme.pl
    Enter your serial # during the installation.
    Thanks for the tutorial, it worked. Since I've done this before, this part above didn't stump me. But you should add a sentence here that tells people to say "YES" to that question about running the config script when they execute the any-any patch, because the default says "no" due to them entering no the first time around. This might throw newbies off if that little detail isn't put in clear text.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Beans
    537
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04

    help! i can't find the launch icon under the Applications/System Tools menu where the vmware applications normally reside.. i just installed and then removed server 2 beta 2 but i don't think this would have any bearing on my installation of server 1.5? i've been able to install and run both workstation and server in the past with no issues. any ideas? thanks.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,434
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04

    The icon may be in Applications/Other.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 4.0GHz, SSDs, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

Page 2 of 35 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •