Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: my IP adress is changed automaticly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    23

    Question my IP adress is changed automaticly

    Hi all,
    I excute the following command to activate my eth0 :
    Code:
    sudo ifup eth0
    when I execute ifconfig I get the following result:
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:C5:17:2B:D8  
              inet addr:192.168.1.2  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::215:c5ff:fe17:2bd8/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:22811 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:22754 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:17157553 (16.3 MB)  TX bytes:2852364 (2.7 MB)
              Interrupt:22 
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:976 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:976 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:90482 (88.3 KB)  TX bytes:90482 (88.3 KB)
    after few minutes I couldn't connect to internet and when I execute ifconfig I get :
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:C5:17:2B:D8  
              inet6 addr: fe80::215:c5ff:fe17:2bd8/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:22582 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:22504 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:17027033 (16.2 MB)  TX bytes:2822194 (2.6 MB)
              Interrupt:22 
    
    eth0:avah Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:C5:17:2B:D8  
              inet addr:169.254.145.140  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              Interrupt:22 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:965 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:965 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:89507 (87.4 KB)  TX bytes:89507 (87.4 KB)
    who to resolve this problem

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: my IP adress is changed automaticly

    do an ifdown and ifup again..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Beans
    920
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: my IP adress is changed automaticly

    New to me; none of my ubuntu systems have ever done this to me. The eth0:avah makes me think that something weird is going on with avahi-daemon. What other kinds of systems are running off your router?
    The 169.254.145.140 IP address is from the "zeroconf" automatic address range, and doesn't match your router, which is the direct cause of the problem. The advice fom superprash2003 is good, except I have a nagging feeling you will just get the problem back a few minutes later.

    If you don't actually need Bonjour-style apple multicast DNS support, you could perhaps improve the situation with sudo apt-get remove avahi-daemon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    23

    Re: my IP adress is changed automaticly

    Quote Originally Posted by superprash2003 View Post
    do an ifdown and ifup again..
    I tried this, the problem is resloved but after few minutes later the problem is back

    Quote Originally Posted by lemming465 View Post
    , except I have a nagging feeling you will just get the problem back a few minutes later.
    it is true
    Quote Originally Posted by lemming465 View Post
    If you don't actually need Bonjour-style apple multicast DNS support, you could perhaps improve the situation with sudo apt-get remove avahi-daemon
    is it possible to stop disbale avahi-daomon with out remove it ?
    I tried the following command , but the problem isn't resolved
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/avahi-daemon stop
    Last edited by jackm; May 3rd, 2008 at 07:58 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: my IP adress is changed automaticly

    Could it be that your ethernet controller is entering a power-save mode as directed by the bios?

    I've heard of this happening before and disabling power-management for the ethernet card in bios can cure it sometimes.
    20" G5 iMac - AMD64 HP desktop
    http://www.ppclinux.info/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Beans
    920
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: my IP adress is changed automaticly

    ss it possible to stop disbale avahi-daomon with out remove it ?
    Of course. The likely thing to try would be stop avahi-daemon and then bounce the networks, e.g.
    Code:
    sudo rm /etc/rc2.d/S18avahi-daemon
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    23

    Re: my IP adress is changed automaticly

    thanx lemming465

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •