Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: wow, large hard drive!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    8

    Question wow, large hard drive!

    I just installed the final release of Hardy on my computer and when I went to Applications>Accessories>Disk Usuage Analyzer, it tells me that Total filesystem capacity 456.4 GB (used: 4.8 GB available: 451.6 GB)

    As the hard drive is only a 250 GB (seagate ST3250620A), where does the extra disk space from? or has Hardy heron been feeding on corn mash and has become confused?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    /home/ibutho
    Beans
    1,365

    Re: wow, large hard drive!

    Could be a bug in the app. Run the command "df -h" and see if that shows reasonable output.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Beans
    1,541
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: wow, large hard drive!

    Well that's damn odd.

    Try this:

    sudo apt-get install smartmontools

    sudo smartctl -a /dev/hda (or /dev/sda if you have a sata drive)

    What does it say under === START OF INFORMATION SECTION === for your drive size? This should be the correct size, because SMART pulls that directly from the drive.
    Last edited by jimv; May 1st, 2008 at 12:20 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Beans
    599
    Distro
    Xubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: wow, large hard drive!

    Do you have more than one hdd?


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Beans
    269

    Re: wow, large hard drive!

    It's a feature in Ubuntu, PhantomGB. It allows you to use 200% of you hard disk. Quite useful really.
    lolwut

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The United States
    Beans
    518

    Re: wow, large hard drive!

    Go to edit and then preferences and you should be able to see why the disk analyzer does that.It combines ALL other file systems including your cd-rom,I don't why it does that by default.Just select you hard drive mount point and it will work.
    Desktop 1: Asus A8N-E | AMD Athlon +3200 | 2 GB Ram | Geforce 8500 | Windows XP
    Desktop 2: Soyo-KT600 | AMD Athlon +2600 | 768 MB Ram | Geforce 5200 | Ubuntu 10.04
    Netbook: Asus 1001P, Arch Linux

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    8

    Thumbs up Re: wow, large hard drive!

    wow, so much good help. really appreciate it people.

    Only a single hard drive system. 1 cdrw, 1 1.44 floppy and 1 ls120 drive.

    go it working good now
    unchecked gvfs-fuse-daemon and it shows only the harddrive it's self.
    Last edited by jimclarke; May 1st, 2008 at 06:33 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •