Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: hard drive inaccessible

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    29 Low Dervish Row,Tarant
    Beans
    555

    hard drive inaccessible

    So this is what it says when i try to open my hard drive.




    Cannot mount volume.

    You are not privileged to mount the volume 'Zopiac128_160'.




    help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    the space between spaces.
    Beans
    1,654

    Re: hard drive inaccessible

    try

    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/XXX /media/disk
    and replace XXX with the drive listing (SDA1, SDB1, etc...)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    29 Low Dervish Row,Tarant
    Beans
    555

    Re: hard drive inaccessible

    Quote Originally Posted by damis648 View Post
    try

    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/XXX /media/disk
    and replace XXX with the drive listing (SDA1, SDB1, etc...)
    zopiac@zopiac:~$ /dev/sda1 /media/disk
    bash: /dev/sda1: Permission denied

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    70

    Re: hard drive inaccessible

    what is the output of

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    29 Low Dervish Row,Tarant
    Beans
    555

    Re: hard drive inaccessible

    Quote Originally Posted by lwvmobile View Post
    what is the output of

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xc85a3fbe

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 16709 134215011 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 16710 19457 22073310 83 Linux

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Beans
    517

    Re: hard drive inaccessible

    Quote Originally Posted by Zopiac View Post
    zopiac@zopiac:~$ /dev/sda1 /media/disk
    bash: /dev/sda1: Permission denied
    Should you use capitals for the drive name in the command?
    "It is one thing to show a man that he is in an error, and another to put him in possession of the truth." (John Locke)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    70

    Re: hard drive inaccessible

    Ok, give this a shot

    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/#name
    for #name, just whatever you want to call the mounted partition

    then

    HTML Code:
    sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/sda1 /media/#name
    again, where #name is what you just used the last time.

    Post back if this works, so we can get this into fstab for you so it will stick.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    29 Low Dervish Row,Tarant
    Beans
    555

    Re: hard drive inaccessible

    Quote Originally Posted by lwvmobile View Post
    Ok, give this a shot

    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/#name
    for #name, just whatever you want to call the mounted partition

    then

    HTML Code:
    sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/sda1 /media/#name
    again, where #name is what you just used the last time.

    Post back if this works, so we can get this into fstab for you so it will stick.
    zopiac@zopiac:~$ sudo mkdir /media/Zopiac
    zopiac@zopiac:~$ sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/sda1 /media/Zopiac
    $LogFile indicates unclean shutdown (0, 0)
    Failed to mount '/dev/sda1': Operation not supported
    Mount is denied because NTFS is marked to be in use. Choose one action:

    Choice 1: If you have Windows then disconnect the external devices by
    clicking on the 'Safely Remove Hardware' icon in the Windows
    taskbar then shutdown Windows cleanly.

    Choice 2: If you don't have Windows then you can use the 'force' option for
    your own responsibility. For example type on the command line:

    mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /media/Zopiac -o force

    Or add the option to the relevant row in the /etc/fstab file:

    /dev/sda1 /media/Zopiac ntfs-3g force 0 0
    zopiac@zopiac:~$

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    70

    Re: hard drive inaccessible

    Do you have windows installed on that partition your trying to mount. If so, boot into it and run a scandisk, and then shut down windows properly. Then retry the previous post.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    fort lauderdale
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: hard drive inaccessible

    i have the same problem but with an external drive same error message but it is just data mainly videos no os and it loaded with the live cd no problem?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •