Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ubuntu 8.04 issues in my macbook

Beans

ubuntu 8.04 issues in my macbook

I'm new in ubuntu but not scared to try things out, and get in the terminal...so I managed to triple boot my macbook. 90gigs for Leopard, 40g for Windows Vista, 15g for Ubuntu. Vista runs great out of the box! Is true what they say, a Mac is the best windows computer. I wish I could say the same for Ubuntu...here are some issues I'm having.
    1. isight not recognized in skype or ekiga (what ever that other program is)
    2. runs super HOT!!! almost burns my hand on the bottom. so i don't like to stay in ubuntu too long...scared.
    3. video streaming in the internet is terrible. in os x and windows, i can watch anything, anywhere...in Ubuntu I can only watch videos from Youtube. (not msn, cnet.com, or nba.com) i'm also have issues trying to install video plug ins (too complicated for me, like I said..."I'm new in Ubuntu")

I guess that's all I can remember for now. My main concern is with the HOT temps, and the video streaming!! what the deal is?? Can some one help??

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Re: ubuntu 8.04 issues in my macbook

To fix your iSight follow this guide.

Video from those sites you mentioned are streaming in proprietary video formats which Ubuntu can't support out of the box for legal reasons. However, it's perfecting easy to install support for them by going to Applications -> Add/Remove. Then under the Show menu change to All available applications. With the All category selected in the menu on the left search for restricted. This will return two results, go ahead and install Ubuntu restricted extras. You should be able to watch your videos now.

Or, you can do the exact same thing as above by opening a terminal (Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal) and typing:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
    Then enter your password.

Good Luck!