Thread: 8.04 upgrade frozen - network manager

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Unhappy 8.04 upgrade frozen - network manager

hi i just tried to upgrade to ubuntu 8.04 on my dell inspiron 1501. it got right to the end of the installation, however it has given me a terminal error message saying

errors were encountered while processing:
    network-manager
    network-manager-gnome

now any ideas what i should do here? it's not moving..

sorry i'm a bit if a newbie, lucky my little acer with puppy on it is working hence this message!!

Beans

Re: 8.04 upgrade frozen - network manager

Same problem for me. Update Manager is frozen. System partially functional, but afraid to reboot and having it hosed. Looking for an answer before I do the possibly fatal reboot.

I was using a restricted driver - built in Broadcom wireless in my Dell Latitude D400.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

hi sorry about the delay, damn work get's in the way!
    i tried to reboot when it froze, and it did start up eventually. my wireless wouldn't work, in spite of me loading the driver. neither would some programs start. anyway i turned it off, booted up the next morning, blank screen....
    tried again in the evening booted up ok!! everything,[docs,pics.music] still in place!!
    still no wireless. so i reinstalled network-manager and network-manager-gnome in synaptic and hey presto the wireless light came on!!
    everything seems to be ok now [so far].
    only thing is i now have two versions of firefox! 2 + beta3.. is this right?
    need to do another post as i think i need to run the cleanup tool as it never got there on my upgrade,

Beans

Well, I'm OK now. After leaving the screen up in it's frozen state for a couple of days while I tried finding specific help (mouse and menus active, but no programs would launch, not even terminal or TTY screens) I finally bit the bullet and did a hard reboot.