Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: easiest way to get "expose" plugin?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    easiest way to get "expose" plugin?

    I like synaptic and standard repositories. Is there a safe & easy way to get the Expose plugin? I can't find it when I search compiz in synaptic.

    (In case it's not the right name any more, I mean when all windows are tiled for ~5 sec for easy selection if you slide the mouse to the upper right corner. Note, I do not mean the "Expo" which I do have.)

    I don't really use wobbly windows and spinning desktop things.. so I'd be sad to hear if the Expose plugin was buggy somehow. (I saw it last year on a Fedora install.) In my view it falls under the "useful / productivity" kind of generally appealing desktop effects, such that I'd be happy to see it under System > Preferences > Appearance > Visual Effects > Normal.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    658

    Re: easiest way to get "expose" plugin?

    If you have Compiz installed, expo should already be there. It's usually triggered with Super+E. Try to see if it works. Otherwise, install the Compiz-config-setting manager through Synaptic, which gives you much more control over the Compiz-settings.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    26

    Re: easiest way to get "expose" plugin?

    I believe he is talking about scale, which is the Linux clone of Mac's expose. To solve your problem, go to System>Preferences>Simple Compizconfig Manager OR Appearance>Desktop Effects and click the Preferences button next to "Custom".
    Click the edges tab and click one of the red edges, select scale windows from the box and now when you move your cusor to that edge,it'll activate scale.

    You can also press Shift+Alt+Up, but then you have to select with the keyboard, which I personally dislike.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: easiest way to get "expose" plugin?

    crash91 was right. Thanks! I didn't know the name of the plugin. But eventually I figured it out.

    For me, the exact method was a little different from what crash91 wrote. (are you using plain vanilla 8.04?) I wrote a HowTo on the topic. Hope it helps.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    26

    Re: easiest way to get "expose" plugin?

    I was explaining the method to do it with ccsm, not advanced ccsm . You are right in your how to, here is some more info on the effect. I was too lazy to accent the e
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Expos%C3%A9_(Mac_OS_X)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: easiest way to get "expose" plugin?

    Quote Originally Posted by crash91 View Post
    I was too lazy to accent the e
    That's a pain in any OS, unless you have the right keyboard (or keyboard mapping?)

    Thanks for the info. If ccsm is the same as System > Preferences > Appearance , then I couldn't find the options you referred to. Is there a "advanced options" that I didn't find?

    If not it's not the "Appearance" app, I'll poke around for it later. Maybe it should be in the HowTo. .. I wouldn't have expected to have 3 different levels of complexity of managers!

    cheers

  7. #7
    Bubba64 is offline Grande Half-n-Half Cinnamon Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Trafalmadore
    Beans
    948
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Smile Re: easiest way to get "expose" plugin?

    If you install toolbar buttons from add ons there is an icon that you can put on your 1 of 2 bars which will tell you your plugins.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2377

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    26

    Re: easiest way to get "expose" plugin?

    There is a simple-ccsm that you can install, i dont quite remember how i did it, but it lets you have another option called "Custom" after "Extra" In the effects tab. From there you can customize more stuff.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: easiest way to get "expose" plugin?

    Quote Originally Posted by crash91 View Post
    There is a simple-ccsm that you can install, i dont quite remember how i did it, but it lets you have another option called "Custom" after "Extra" In the effects tab. From there you can customize more stuff.
    System > Administration > Synaptic > Search > simple-ccsm

    Thanks again! One question, does the compiz fusion icon launch the simple-ccsm if it's the only one you have installed? .. I'm too lazy to check that out thoroughly

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •