Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: VirtualBox and VMware server in hardy?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    19

    VirtualBox and VMware server in hardy?

    im thinking of booting my xp partition on hardy x64

    so before i begin installing i would to know if anybody has tested virtualbox or vmware on hardy x64 bit and got it working with no trouble..


    thank you, mind my username lol.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: VirtualBox and VMware server in hardy?

    Please see the sticky thread on VirtualBox. I have tried and tested it, however, there is one critical problem - once you've virtualized your partition, you can't bring it back. It will only be able to boot in virtualbox and not natively. This is because of the amount of hardware virtualbox changes to your install - ide controllers, video adapters, even your CPU.

    Therefore I recommend trying out vmware - if been able to use an existing partition with no problem appearing afterwards on Hardy 32-bit. But, that's just my experience. I'm guessing your mileage will vary.
    Focus on how it can be rather than how it could've been.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    19

    Re: VirtualBox and VMware server in hardy?

    the stick has nothing in it...but yeah um i guess ill dl vmware..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: VirtualBox and VMware server in hardy?

    Sorry, I've just updated it. I wonder if it still isn't up?
    Focus on how it can be rather than how it could've been.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,432
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: VirtualBox and VMware server in hardy?

    This could be your ticket to ride, and it's up-to-date:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...27#post4816827

    Message #3, does it for me and others with 64 and 32-bit Ubuntu.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 4.0GHz, SSDs, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    19

    Re: VirtualBox and VMware server in hardy?

    its alright, i installed virtualbox and i made a new virtual machine, for some reason it didnt want to read my xp partition so yeha i made a new virtual machine and it works fine thx though

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    South Bend
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: VirtualBox and VMware server in hardy?

    I just reinstalled Hardy 3X because I was testing virtualbox. What a nightmare. Every single time i loaded the ose-guest module for linux image 2.6.24-16 generic it took my sound drivers away completely. The hardware didn't even show up anymore and its on the mobo.... VMWARE hard as hell to install but solid as a rock.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: VirtualBox and VMware server in hardy?

    Please take a second look at the thread; the problem has been fixed.
    Focus on how it can be rather than how it could've been.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •