Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: dvd-amd64 and amd64

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    651
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: dvd-amd64 and amd64

    Yeah i know. Everything depends on the external dvd drive. If it's possible to make a clean install of Ubuntu 64 from the existing Ubuntu partition (or from the existing XP partition) all should run smooth i think.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Beans
    10,280
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: dvd-amd64 and amd64

    Sure

    Let me know how it goes (I'll subscribe to this thread )

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    651
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: dvd-amd64 and amd64

    Yes man, I'll do that. I'll use the next week for tidying up and taking backup of everything. Then I'll give it a shot.

    With luck I might be back at the end of the week (i really do hope so)

    Regards,

    Peaks

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Beans
    10,280
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: dvd-amd64 and amd64

    I look forward to hearing from you

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    651
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: dvd-amd64 and amd64

    I'm back on my clean Hardy 64 install. The screen resolution is all wrong. I haven't installed any new drivers. I'm running a clean system. The resolution is 1280 X 768. The right resolution shoud be 1280 X 1024. The screens and graphics preferences doesn't help at all. * Edit: Now running with 1280 X 960 Res Strange. But better than the last res.

    Xorg output:

    # xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    # sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "no"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Configured Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "CorePointer"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    Boardname "ATI Radeon (fglrx)"
    Busid "PCI:1:0:0"
    Driver "ati"
    Screen 0
    Vendorname "ATI"
    Option "MergedFB" "off"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    Vendorname "Generic LCD Display"
    Modelname "LCD Panel 1280x1024"
    Horizsync 31.5-64.0
    Vertrefresh 56.0 - 65.0
    modeline "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -vsync -hsync
    modeline "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
    modeline "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
    modeline "1024x768@60" 65.0 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -vsync -hsync
    modeline "1280x960@60" 102.1 1280 1360 1496 1712 960 961 964 994 -hsync +vsync
    modeline "1280x1024@60" 108.0 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
    Gamma 1.0
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    Defaultdepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Virtual 1280 1024
    Modes "1280x1024@60" "1280x960@60" "1024x768@60" "800x600@60" "800x600@56" "640x480@60"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    screen 0 "Default Screen" 0 0
    EndSection
    Section "Module"
    Load "glx"
    Load "GLcore"
    Load "dri"
    Load "v4l"
    EndSection
    Section "device" #
    Identifier "device1"
    Boardname "ATI Radeon (fglrx)"
    Busid "PCI:1:0:0"
    Driver "ati"
    Screen 1
    Vendorname "ATI"
    Option "MergedFB" "off"
    EndSection
    Section "screen" #
    Identifier "screen1"
    Device "device1"
    Defaultdepth 24
    Monitor "monitor1"
    EndSection
    Section "monitor" #
    Identifier "monitor1"
    Gamma 1.0
    EndSection
    Section "ServerFlags"
    EndSection

    This is priority one for me since I'm also using this machine for work So i hope to see some help about how to proceed from here on.

    In addition i think Hardy is only installed on one of my three HDDs. The two others i have to mount. And the files from my windows install are still there. This i want to fix as soon as the resolution problem is done with.

    Compiz is working nicely. And i want to keep it.

    I have a restricted ATI driver in the hardware drivers manager (not in use).

    For starters. Anyone have some tips and tricks?
    Last edited by peakshysteria; April 28th, 2008 at 11:27 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Beans
    10,280
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: dvd-amd64 and amd64

    What happens if you try to install the restricted ATI Drivers? It might fix your screen (could break compiz...not sure)

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    651
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: dvd-amd64 and amd64

    He, I'll bet money on it breaking Compiz. So I hoped to first get the right resolution so i can find out of every other small things before I once again started battling with the mystical ATI drivers. You can see how many threads are commenting ATI problems. There wite a few.

    Isn't there a way to manually force the right resolution in xorg?

    _______________--

    Edit:

    Tried the proprietary driver from the restricted driver manager. Didn't work at all. Broke Compiz and made me stuck in 800 X 600 resolution. Nightmare de lux once again. Uninstalled the driver. No difference.

    Installed fglrx. got my screen resolution back. The screens and graphics manager still says it's 1280 X 960. And not 1280 X 1024 which is what i want. If I try it i get a black screen and a message telling me 1600X1024 out of range. Then it hangs there before it goes back to the desktop with the resolution before i tried 1280X1024.

    Compiz is still broken. Tried to reinstall via synaptic. Didn't work. No compiz kinda takes the fun away....beginning to get disappointed now. Been working all day on this and other small things. Not sure at all how to proceed. Maybe envy?
    Last edited by peakshysteria; April 30th, 2008 at 01:58 AM. Reason: ati driver

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •