Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Hardy Heron Update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Hardy Heron Update

    Help!!
    Just downloaded Hardy Heron and updated Gusty Gibbon, but now the following System/Administration programs are not working.

    Synaptic Package Manager
    Software Sources
    Login Window
    Hardware Testing

    The Starting Administrative Application tab shows at the bottom of the screen and then disappears, nothing else happens.

    Also Update Manager does the same when ask to check for updates, and then will not close, only way to close it is to crash. After restarting i get the message Crash Report Detected, i click on it and Starting Administrative Application tab shows and then disappears. All else seems to work.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Beans
    435

    Re: Hardy Heron Update

    Please post the output of

    Code:
     :-$ gksu /usr/sbin/gdmsetup
    from terminal.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    In Hungary
    Beans
    60
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Hardy Heron Update

    As far as I'm concerned the upgrade is a disaster. It has stalled at the installation of WVDIAL Now what do I do? I don't want to wreck the whole thing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Beans
    435

    Re: Hardy Heron Update

    Yes, the upgrade is a pain, as it is every release. Please be patient.

    What makes you think you've wrecked anything? A stalled package installtion isn't the end of the world.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Boston
    Beans
    59
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Hardy Heron Update

    Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: Don't Panic!

    The servers have been extremely overloaded, so perhaps something has stalled. Did you allow the install to complete before you forced a crash? Also -- the update manager has been extremely slow as predicted - so if you can, let it sit a bit and don't freak if something doesn't happen within the first 30 seconds. It took me close to four hours to update one machine.

    The upgrade is not a disaster.

    Please describe exactly what the problem is.

    - nina
    Anzuru yori umu ga yasashi...


    -- Giving birth to a baby is easier than worrying about it!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Hardy Heron Update

    Have tried that, again the Starting Administrative Application tab shows at bottom of screen and then nothing. So tried with sudo and get the message "sudo: unable to resolve host bucky-desktop".

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    114
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Hardy Heron Update

    You should look in System>Administration>Network settings

    In the "Host" tab you should look for your host and edit it to remove the ".WORKGROUP" (or anything else) that was appended to your host name.

    It worked for me... Hope it will work for you too...
    "We find ourselves in the same old mess
    Singin' Drunken Lullabies"

    Registered Linux user #478812!!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Wollongong, Australia
    Beans
    137
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Talking Re: Hardy Heron Update

    Same here, on both of my machines here that were upgraded the same thing happened. So just fixed the host bit and synaptic took off.

    Mind you the new install on the laptop worked fine with wubi, had to give it a try

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    28

    Re: Hardy Heron Update

    Whew!...That's why we love the noobie forum. LOL> I just had the very same thing happen and guess what, you were right there for me. Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Hardy Heron Update

    Thanks wish i'd got that before i made the decision to down load the iso file and do a full new install. which went well, only have to find a way to get my windows machine to see ubuntu. Will put in a new post.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •