Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 90

Thread: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

  1. #51
    pxwpxw's Avatar
    pxwpxw is offline Chocolate Ubuntu Mocha Blend
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

    On the Apple mac pro support page, Restting the SMC covers the unresponsive computer/kbd situation,
    holding in the power button for 10 seconds or more is one option.

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    2

    Re: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

    Thanks for your reply, Cyberdork. EDIT: and PXWPXW

    I managed to fix the problem on my own. For reasons unknown to me, somehow during the install, my SMC must have become corrupt. So resetting the SMC fixed half of the problem. I then was able to use rEFIt to fix my MBR. Now everything is back to normal. Phew!

    David
    Last edited by Snowdrift42; November 21st, 2008 at 09:26 AM. Reason: didnt see one reply

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

    I'm having similar issues and it seems pretty clear I need to install rEFIt. However, i don't have a working Mac at this point and the rEFIt distribution comes in a .DMG and .CDR format. How do I burn a bootable CD of rEFIt when I only have a PC to burn from?

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Beans
    7,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingpatzer View Post
    I'm having similar issues and it seems pretty clear I need to install rEFIt. However, i don't have a working Mac at this point and the rEFIt distribution comes in a .DMG and .CDR format. How do I burn a bootable CD of rEFIt when I only have a PC to burn from?
    you can burn the .cdr image to disc from any computer. If you need a burning application, I would suggest ImgBurn:
    http://www.imgburn.com/

    Can you not boot OSX by holding Option on startup?

  5. #55
    pxwpxw's Avatar
    pxwpxw is offline Chocolate Ubuntu Mocha Blend
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingpatzer View Post
    I'm having similar issues and it seems pretty clear I need to install rEFIt. However, i don't have a working Mac at this point and the rEFIt distribution comes in a .DMG and .CDR format. How do I burn a bootable CD of rEFIt when I only have a PC to burn from?
    If you have a ubuntu live cd you can download the ubuntu refit package and run gptsync to sync the MBR, if that is your problem.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install refit
    sudo gptsync /dev/sda

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

    Hi everyone,

    I am in a similar problem, but my case is a little different. I had a nice refit installation with all os working (i have mac os x, ubuntu and win xp).

    Then, I decided to give more space to win xp, and this resulted in moving the partitions around, i used ubuntu live cd and gparted.

    Now, the win and the ubuntu refuse to boot.. I have synced the mbr from the refit menu, i am thinking of reinstalling grub as given on http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...3&postcount=11 . But this will still not fix my windows boot, will it? What can I do to fix it?

    Any help will be very helpful!
    TIA,
    Arjun

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Beans
    1,405
    Distro
    Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex (testing)

    Re: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

    I figured out what the problem was:

    You have to use disk utility to create an hfs+ partition were you want to install Linux. Simply making free space and formating it with the Ubuntu installer will cause you to install on /dev/sda5 or disk0s5. If you make the hfs+ partition with disk utility and then format that partition in the installer it's listed as /dev/sda4 or disk0s4.

    The numbers maybe different for you, in my case I have a separate / and /Users partition. What seems to cause this weirdness is the fact that in addition to / you also have /efi and /apple_boot(or something like that) partitions that don't show up in the OS X disk utility but are still there. To see them just run "diskutil list" in the OSX terminal.
    Constant development is the law of life, and a man who always tries to maintain his dogmas in order to appear consistent drives himself into a false position - Mahatma Gandhi

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Beans
    7,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

    Quote Originally Posted by arjunjain View Post
    Hi everyone,

    I am in a similar problem, but my case is a little different. I had a nice refit installation with all os working (i have mac os x, ubuntu and win xp).

    Then, I decided to give more space to win xp, and this resulted in moving the partitions around, i used ubuntu live cd and gparted.

    Now, the win and the ubuntu refuse to boot.. I have synced the mbr from the refit menu, i am thinking of reinstalling grub as given on http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...3&postcount=11 . But this will still not fix my windows boot, will it? What can I do to fix it?

    Any help will be very helpful!
    TIA,
    Arjun
    Nope, that is a different issue. Windows doesn't like when you mess with partitions after it has been installed.

  9. #59
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    11

    Re: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

    I have problem when i try to boot linux from partition3 it shows me just GRUB and blinking cursor

  10. #60
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Beans
    7,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Intel Macs with Hardy 'no bootable devices'

    Quote Originally Posted by zowey View Post
    I have problem when i try to boot linux from partition3 it shows me just GRUB and blinking cursor
    Reinstall GRUB as shown in the second part of the first post.

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •