Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: cannot play mp3's

Beans

Unhappy cannot play mp3's

I just installed Ubuntu 8.04. This is my first time on Linux and I have no idea what I am doing.

I imported all of my mp3 files onto my computer and imported them into Rhythmbox. But when I try to play any file with sound at all, I hear nothing.

I know that my sound card is working, because I can hear music/videos online perfectly.

I have tried VLC, Ryhthmbox, and Movie Player.

Help. Thanks.

Beans

Re: cannot play mp3's

Quote Originally Posted by bakersfield90 View Post
    I just installed Ubuntu 8.04. This is my first time on Linux and I have no idea what I am doing.

I imported all of my mp3 files onto my computer and imported them into Rhythmbox. But when I try to play any file with sound at all, I hear nothing.

I know that my sound card is working, because I can hear music/videos online perfectly.

I have tried VLC, Ryhthmbox, and Movie Player.

Help. Thanks.
    Juste install ubuntu-restricted-extras package.

Open a terminal and enter :

Code:
    sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
    And it will be ok.
    Only knowledge will set you free.
    Ubuntu user #3088
    Using Linux-only PC powered since december 2004, Ubuntu user since june 2006.
    Acer Laptop 5520g / Ubuntu 9.04 - AMD64.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Wish I could prove I love you, but does that mean I have to walk on water?
    When we are older you'll understand it's enough when I say so, and maybe some things are that simple.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

this might be useful to do, and it might fix your problem:
    Code:
    it's a metapackage full of codecs, fonts, flash, etc. Seems like the codecs for mp3 playback aren't installed yet.

*edit* too slow XD

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by FredB View Post
    Juste install ubuntu-restricted-extras package.

Open a terminal and enter :

Code:
    And it will be ok.