Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: acer aspire 5100 display issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    acer aspire 5100 display issue

    Hardware: Acer Aspire Laptop 5100-3357
    Specs: 1.5 gig of ram / one big fat partition for linux only, yes I am a newbie learning how to setup Ubuntu
    OS: Ubuntu 10.10

    ISSUE: After installation the OS does successfully bootup, but I can't see borizonal the top menu, or the left side launcher menu for more than a split second.

    The Left side launcher vertical menu is essentially grayed out, and the top horizontal menu is not viewable, but I can select items such as login, shutdown, volume, etc.. I can also select apps from the vertical launch menu, and I can ATL tab between apps, surf the web, etc...

    SO FAR: I tried cranking down the display settings, and I've added all updates from the "App Update" tool.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am sold on the performance and usability of this release, and I would really like to get this system fully operational..

    Oddly enough my smaller Acer Aspire 3200 laptop works great with Ub 10.1,10, no display issues, etc...

    much appreciated...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    10,629
    Distro
    Lubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: acer aspire 5100 display issue

    Have you tried installing 10.04?
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    Re: acer aspire 5100 display issue

    No, I can certainly try that... That's for the response...

    The funny thing is that now I am use to the smaller size of the Acer 3624, which also has 10.10, the difference is that everything seems work fine on the smaller Acer: audio, wireless, video, etc...

    I'll give this a try...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    Re: acer aspire 5100 display issue

    Can someone provide a link for 10.04...?

    I reinstalled 10.10 on my acer 5100, when I boot up from the 10.10 installation CD I see a fully functioning horizontal bar throughout the installation process, which then is grayed out after installatio and reboot?

    Has anyone had success with other revs I'd Ub, or other distro's on a acer 5100?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    10,629
    Distro
    Lubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: acer aspire 5100 display issue

    Yes: http://www.releases.ubuntu.com/

    If you can wait a day, 10.04.2 will be released.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    Re: acer aspire 5100 display issue

    Thanks again, after doing some research I realized that i installed the ubuntu netbook edition on my 17 inch screen acer laptop.

    I am downloading the link you provided, and will try the correct desktop installation on the acer 5100.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    10.04 works great...

    Thanks Morgaes..., if

    Everything works perfectly now that i have installed the correct AMD64, desktop version. I even purchased another 2 gig of ram, I now have 4 gig fully working on the system.

    The system monitor shows only 3.6, though I assume the rest is being allocated to video..

    This was an interesting/positive experience obtainig free technical support from someone in Iceland... I am in California USA- across the planet

    Thanks again...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    10,629
    Distro
    Lubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: 10.04 works great...

    You are welcome.
    Next time it is perhaps you helping someone unknown overseas...
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    Re: acer aspire 5100 display issue

    Here's the screenshot of the new environment...This will be my new home computer...
    Attached Images Attached Images

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •