Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Need to change resolution in Hardy Command Line

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    445
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Need to change resolution in Hardy Command Line

    Hello, I just downloaded Hardy and it seems that the installation process has changed. I have a large CRT monitor with a resolution of 800x600. In the past, I used an alternate install CD and selected that resolution in the text installer. Now, Hardy doesn't present me with that option and it tries to run my resolution at something way too high to see anything. So, how do I change the resolution and refresh rate through the command line recovery console? Oh, and I've installed hardy, I just cannot boot it up. The screen turns to fast moving lines that make no sense.

    I check xorg.conf and it looks really different than previous versions.

    Here are the specs I Need

    Res: 800x600
    Vert Ref: 60
    Horiz ref: 31

    Can anyone help?
    check out linuxmce! It's the future of home media centers. It is flat out the most amazing piece of linux software I've ever seen.

    http://www.linuxmce.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK near Bedford
    Beans
    3,475
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Need to change resolution in Hardy Command Line

    Boot into safe mode, that will give you a text based prompt.

    What graphics card have you got?

    PC

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    445
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Need to change resolution in Hardy Command Line

    Nvidia geforce 8600 GT I think. I know how to get to the command line, I just don't know what to edit anymore. Hardy is so different! My xorg.conf file looks nothing like what it used to after fresh install. I just need to know where I can configure my resolution and refresh rate in the command line and the syntax to do it.
    check out linuxmce! It's the future of home media centers. It is flat out the most amazing piece of linux software I've ever seen.

    http://www.linuxmce.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK near Bedford
    Beans
    3,475
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Need to change resolution in Hardy Command Line

    Try typing

    Code:
    envyng -t
    at the command prompt. It will do a good job of installing the nvidia drivers. you can the use

    Code:
    nvidia-settings
    to setup the screen


    PC

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    445
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Need to change resolution in Hardy Command Line

    says there's no such command as
    Code:
    envyng
    and I double checked my spelling too. Does anyone know which text file I can edit to change my resolution?
    check out linuxmce! It's the future of home media centers. It is flat out the most amazing piece of linux software I've ever seen.

    http://www.linuxmce.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    /dev/null
    Beans
    444
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Need to change resolution in Hardy Command Line

    You need to download envyng...

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install envyng-gtk
    You might also need to grab envyng-core, I can't remember if apt will download that automatically or not. Once that's installed, you can run envyng from a terminal.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    somewhere :)
    Beans
    535
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Need to change resolution in Hardy Command Line

    i wouldn't worry about envy unless you're using an nvidia of an amd card.

    does
    Code:
    dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    still work?

    don't worry. i've just tried it. it doesn't.
    Last edited by howlingmadhowie; April 25th, 2008 at 07:35 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •