Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: hardy upgrade no dropdown menu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Venice IT
    Beans
    26

    Unhappy hardy upgrade no dropdown menu

    Hi I just upgraded to hardy (a bit too early I guess) and on reboot gdm does not show up menu dropdown, please help

    just noticed that this happen on screen 0 but in the second monitor it works... I have separete X sessions in the two monitors, any idea?

    it must be an xorg bug or something of that kind
    Last edited by gupi-gupi; April 24th, 2008 at 12:40 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Venice IT
    Beans
    26

    Re: hardy upgrade no dropdown menu

    up

    I tried almost anything I could think of, I replaced the xorg.conf with an old one, where the second screen was not added yet, but still when compiz start I get no menu dropdown in any application, please suggest me something, I'm open to experiment anything.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK near Bedford
    Beans
    3,481
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: hardy upgrade no dropdown menu

    What video card have you got?

    PC

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Venice IT
    Beans
    26

    Re: hardy upgrade no dropdown menu

    nvidia GeForce 6600
    32 bit architecture
    hardy, just upgraded (that made the trouble)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK near Bedford
    Beans
    3,481
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: hardy upgrade no dropdown menu

    In System->Administration

    do you have the nvidia setting application?

    PC

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Venice IT
    Beans
    26

    Re: hardy upgrade no dropdown menu

    yes, and I tried many different settings in there, (I had the dual monitor set up with separate X session and couriously I noticed that in the second monitor everything works, compiz emerald and the dropdown menu just work, but on screen 0 there is no way, I also tried some script to solve a similar problem gutsy hed (slow menu visualization) but without luck.
    Let me know if you have some suggestion

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: hardy upgrade no dropdown menu

    I had a similar problem after upgrading from 7.10 to Hardy on my laptop last week. My problem isn't that I didn't get the drop downs but that they appeared and disappeared immediately. It has something to do with the mouse settings in the xorg.conf.

    I commented out the section for the Synaptics Touchpad (I'm on a laptop) and then the left click started working as expected but of course I can no longer tweak my settings.

    Unfortunately I haven't had much free time lately to experiment more to see if it's been fixed or narrow it down more.

    Just thought it might be the same problem.

    Good Luck!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Beans
    3,134
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: hardy upgrade no dropdown menu

    If you have an nVidia card then try using nVidia's TwinView rather than xinerama with separate x screens. I've found that TwinView works a lot better than using separate x screens.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Venice IT
    Beans
    26

    Re: hardy upgrade no dropdown menu

    thanks for reply, I did quite a mess, I just fresh reinstalled hardy since I could not find a solution, and after a long surch I found out that the old configuration of compiz was messing with the x session /home/.config/compiz (Ihad menu desappearing immediatly like wfroelih) now it's all working with the two separate session (had to add a script for sturtup compiz). Now, I just have to reinstall everything. (always a mess the dist upgrade)
    thanks anyway
    Last edited by gupi-gupi; April 26th, 2008 at 02:12 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •