Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: BusyBox Built v1.1.3 in Shell (ash) HELP!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Beans
    256
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    BusyBox Built v1.1.3 in Shell (ash) HELP!!!

    I recently just installed Ubuntu and took the cd out and restarted the computer and the Ubuntu loading screen came up and did its thing and then took me to a dos looking screen saying:


    BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu7) Built-in Shell (ash)
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

    (initramfs)


    I am pretty new to Ubuntu and Linux. Anyone have any idea on what i should do. Here are my computers specs

    Bio Star Tforce 6300 - 939 Mobo
    Amd64 x2 4200+
    4x 256mb pc3200 RAM
    1x Sata 80g hard drive (Windows XP Pro)
    1x IDE 250g hard drive (Game Installations)
    1x IDE 120g hard drive (Ubuntu Installation)
    1x IDE 160g hard drive (Storage)
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Fedlity Plat sound card

    Haven't installed anything on the Ubuntu Partition yet because I haven't even gotten into it. So any help would be appriciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    11

    Re: BusyBox Built v1.1.3 in Shell (ash) HELP!!!

    Same here. Mine gave me an error message about gnome not being installed and is now giving me the same prompt.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Beans
    256
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: BusyBox Built v1.1.3 in Shell (ash) HELP!!!

    Well I got Ubuntu to boot, but I had to unplug my windows partitioned hard drive. But that is kind of annoying because if I want to jump back and forth if have to shut down..plug in...restart...so any idea??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    1

    Re: BusyBox Built v1.1.3 in Shell (ash) HELP!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by dtrot55 View Post
    Well I got Ubuntu to boot, but I had to unplug my windows partitioned hard drive. But that is kind of annoying because if I want to jump back and forth if have to shut down..plug in...restart...so any idea??
    In the boot menu...select the first option and press 'e'.

    In this menu select boot option and press 'e' to edit the line and delete the word "splash" at the end and add this all_generic_ide

    Press enter then 'b' to boot.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    283
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: BusyBox Built v1.1.3 in Shell (ash) HELP!!!

    MS skill level -- I press buttons and stuff happens
    Linux skill level -- I copy and paste into the terminal and stuff happens!
    Mac skill level -- Wear a black turtleneck and stuff happens

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Beans
    256
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: BusyBox Built v1.1.3 in Shell (ash) HELP!!!

    Well after i unplugged my windows partition and restarted Ubuntu booted up off my other hard drive. After messing with Ubuntu for a day i replugged in my windows partition and now im offered both at the boot menu...so i have no idea what i did but its working...thanks for the help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NEK Vermont
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: BusyBox Built v1.1.3 in Shell (ash) HELP!!!

    right busybox is a minimal shell, usually the result of hardware detection errors. The alternate cd may solve the problem, or use special boot parameters by editing the kernel line from the grub menu. noapic nolapic, or lapic pci=routeirq, or all_generic_ide

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Beans
    72
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: BusyBox Built v1.1.3 in Shell (ash) HELP!!!

    installing 7.10 is the only thing that worked for me.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •